User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Tom Sou
    Guest

    Default 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    from the badminton rules at www.badminton.org

    13.6.2 is hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes

    I say that 2 hits with one stroke is NOT a fault, my friend says it is.

    Basically we're disgreeing on the definition of a stroke. He says the stroke is over once the shuttle has left the racquet. I argue about the follow through and that a stroke is a change of direction of the racquet.

    Who is right? Is there an official ruling for the above situation?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    Depending on the specific racquet - shuttle interaction, I will usually call a double hit or a carry on myself or a partner if this happens.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    North York, Ont
    Posts
    1,078
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    i as well.
    2 hits on one stroke(which i consider a swing) i consider a double hit

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,910
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    no.

    as long as it is one smooth swing. it can hit the birdie twice, but it won't be considered a fault.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Wrong, wrong, wrong

    the rules are very clear:

    1- Double hit with a single stroke = GOOD
    2- Carries = EVIL


    Number 1 above is true by its omission in the laws of badminton. Law 13.6.2 specifies that a shuttle hit twice in succesion with TWO strokes is a FAULT. By its very omission from the rules, a double hit with a SINGLE stroke must be OK.

    A carry, on the other hand, is addressed by Law 13.6.1:

    "It is a 'fault'...if, in play, the shuttle... is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke"

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Wrong, wrong, wrong

    The problem begins when most of the time these shots fall in the grey area, somewhere between gregr's #1 and #2. The umpire or service judge in tournaments are the one decide but recreationally, it's negotiable

  7. #7
    Ming
    Guest

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    U DUM ASS !!

  8. #8
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Wrong, wrong, wrong

    i think the correct answer is between cooler and gregr's explanations, tt is, from my interpretation of the rules, mind u, my interpretations r usually different, carrying from my Literature>

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    Tom, I would tend to agree with your definition of a 'stroke'. I've not really seen it defined in the Laws of Badminton. Has anyone seen such a definition?

    Perhaps we can extrapolate a definition of 'stroke' from the definitions of a 'correct serve' in Law 9.

    (9.1) In a correct service:

    (9.1.7) the movement of the server's racket must continue forwards after the start of the service (Law 9.4) until the service is delivered; and...

    (9.4) Once the players have taken their positions, the first forward movement of the server's racket head is the start of the service.

    (9.6) Once the service is started (Law 9.4), it is delivered when the shuttle is hit by the server's racket or, in attempting to serve, the server misses the shuttle.


    This is not really the same thing but it somewhat hints at what constitues a stroke. If the server was to stop their racket after starting the serve but before delivering it, they would commit a fault. If the server reverses direction of the racket, they momentarily stop the foward direction of the racket & thus commit a fault. (Technically, servers who shake their rackets forward & back prior to delivering a serve, also violates Rule 9. However, I don't believe that this shake action is ever called. Am I wrong?).

    Getting back to 'stroke'... I would say that the stroke is not complete until the shuttle has been contacted AND the racket stops moving. Even a momentary stop of motion would apply. So if the racket reverses direction or has discontinuous motion I would say that the original stoke has concluded. If the racket starts moving AGAIN after intial contact (or the racket experiences discontinous motion), I would say that a second stroke has occurred.

    The normal follow-thru of the racket in performing a stroke would NOT be considered discontinuous motion and thus would be a part of the stroke. A moving racket (continually) traveling in either a straight line or in a smooth arc does not experience a discontinuity.

    (Note: I am using the mathematical concept of discontinuity in making my point)

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,180
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    Never call your own fault unless of course the umpire does so first!

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,006
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2 hits, 1 stroke=fault?

    I assume your rule only applies to matches in which you have an umpire?

Similar Threads

  1. confusion at smashing stroke / clear stroke!!
    By malaysianfreak in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 17
    : 03-19-2011, 03:49 AM
  2. double hits...
    By amleto in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 10-24-2010, 09:29 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  4. 2 hits, 1 stroke = fault? (again!)
    By Tomsk in forum Jonas Rasmussen Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 05-12-2003, 01:13 PM
  5. If the serve hits the net.....
    By Quan in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 04-02-2001, 08:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •