User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Separation of the Shuttlecock

    Guys, need some comment and insights.. this happened to me a couple of days ago in a tournament. The opposing player smashed the bird, bird separated and the cork went to our side of the net, the feathers didn't go over the net. The umpire ruled it a fault, in our favor. I was thinking a let situation. Any comments appreciated.

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pball
    Guys, need some comment and insights.. this happened to me a couple of days ago in a tournament. The opposing player smashed the bird, bird separated and the cork went to our side of the net, the feathers didn't go over the net. The umpire ruled it a fault, in our favor. I was thinking a let situation. Any comments appreciated.

    thanks in advance
    Not a rules expert but I would have have thought it right to replay the point...

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,010
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The umpire was wrong; you were right.

    14. LETS
    14.1 'Let' shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play if:
    14.1.4 during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle;

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    KL, MAL
    Posts
    697
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This leads to my next question. "What about few feathers disintergrated from the cork? Can player halt/stop the rally and ask for let?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    14,302
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    no.

    Only if the base completely seperates from the shuttle.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    KL, MAL
    Posts
    697
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks!

    i had another experience too. while in a middle of a rally, opponent smashed, the shuttle "folded" as a result of the impact and flew like an "arrow" into my court. due to the unsually fast smash, i could not defend. was it a let?

    thanks again!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,010
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    According to the rules, it is not a let. I'm willing to bet you were using a plastic shuttle - (good) feather shuttles never do this. Since this was a casual game (not a formal tournament), you could reach an agreement with your opponent to play a let.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    14,302
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kamen
    thanks!

    i had another experience too. while in a middle of a rally, opponent smashed, the shuttle "folded" as a result of the impact and flew like an "arrow" into my court. due to the unsually fast smash, i could not defend. was it a let?

    thanks again!
    I've had this happen occasionally with feather shuttles. Unfortunately, I am not the one who can hit it so hard

    If it lands in, then it is a point to the smasher. Lands out, then point to the defender.

    No let here.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    KL, MAL
    Posts
    697
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Thanks!

    Thanks guys!

    Gollum: it was a feather shuttle. You are right to guess that though cause the probability of this happening is much higher with plastic shuttles.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    bandar singa
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum
    The umpire was wrong; you were right.



    14. LETS
    14.1 'Let' shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play if:
    14.1.4 during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle;
    I agree with you, by the way are you a qualified umpire?

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    bandar singa
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Kamen
    thanks!

    i had another experience too. while in a middle of a rally, opponent smashed, the shuttle "folded" as a result of the impact and flew like an "arrow" into my court. due to the unsually fast smash, i could not defend. was it a let?

    thanks again!
    folding is different from seperation, a let will not be allowed.the person who can smash in this way must have a powerful smash.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,010
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lignofix
    I agree with you, by the way are you a qualified umpire?
    No I'm not (thanks for the compliment though); I just like to know the rules, and I keep a copy handy.

    I am a qualified coach (low level, nothing special!), however, and it's important to know the rules if you are going to teach anyone badminton.

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: RSL shuttlecock
    By neutron65 in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 0
    : 12-09-2011, 08:24 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    : 07-21-2009, 03:44 AM
  3. NEWS : IBF set to expand nationality separation
    By seven in forum General Forum
    Replies: 4
    : 10-22-2003, 03:06 PM
  4. NEWS : IBF reconsiders separation rule
    By kwun in forum Professional Players
    Replies: 3
    : 07-17-2003, 05:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •