Help on footwork diagram or practise routine?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by sydney1128, Dec 2, 2004.

1. sydney1128

sydney1128 Regular Member

Hi, I'm new in badminton. I know footwork is very important. But I have no idea how should I practise to improve myself. I've tried searching for related articles here but not much help or maybe I'd miss out some good ones.

I intend to practise by myself but not sure how can I get it started. If I book a court of an hour per day. What's the best routine of various footworks or other form of practise to get fundamental improve? Bear in mind I'll be doing it all alone.

Please advice how should I start and what kind of footworks pattern I should work on. Then after that what other practise should I do. I just want to fully make use of this hour to the maximun to sweat myself out, burn some fats and at the same time improve on my fundamental. :D

Please do not hesitate to list down as much knowledge u know over here. I'm open to all advices and suggestions. I just want to improve... Thank you very much...

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    Tough if you want to do it yourself.

I'd say study a couple of videos of professionals in tournaments.

Also, if you can source it, a copy of Han Jian's book.

And then ask some people who look like they play quite well, to give some advice. However, do expect that a lot of people may not be able to give an answer. Or they maybe be unsure of the answers.

3. Pete LSD

Pete LSD Regular Member

Soul Searching
    There was a IBF Training VID clip for download a couple of months ago. It showed a variety of footworks:

For example, (1) going from the center to the net (left or right corner ) under advantageous and disadvantageous situations; (2) Going from the center to the back (left or right corner) under advantageous situations.

4. hongyi_2000

hongyi_2000 Regular Member