How to prevent injuries in badminton

Discussion in 'Injuries' started by oab729, Dec 2, 2004.

1. oab729

oab729 Regular Member

Hello, i'm a beginner and i seemed to have injured my shoulder. Whenever i do a smash i feel a sharp pain in my shoulder. What would be the best way to fix it?
    And how should i prevent future injuries like this from occuring? Thanks in advance.

2. Dill

Dill Regular Member

Lazy git (my coach can verify this)
    Could be a whole host of things, please go see a doctor or phisiotherapist.

The only way to avoid injury in the future is to wrap yourself in cotton wool, if you are playing any sports there is always a chance you can and will get injured.

The ways to reduce the risk is to do a warmup to prevent muscular injuries and to make sure you use the correct technique and footwork.

3. jamesd20

jamesd20 Moderator

Construction
    Ways to reduce injury occurence:

1.Full warm up (20mins light excercise, stretching-Skipping/jogging etc.)
    2.Correct technique
    3.PLay within yourself (play hard, but for short periods-when you are tired..STOP)

4.Gentle stretches/light excercise everyday 5-10mins before/after sleep/wake up. (this should keep your muscles ticking over and increase flexibility)

As for your injury, see a doctor!

4. Big Slick

Big Slick Regular Member

If you start to feel an injury coming on at any stage, stop playing immediatly. That way you will minimise the time you spend out of the game. Playing on at all just prolongs the injury.

5. cappy75

cappy75 Regular Member

Depot Support Representative