User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 33
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    456
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Double hit/drag shot/shuttle sliding along racquet

    I think that's the term. Lately, I have notice that I am kinda scrapping the birdie with my racket when i hit. What am I doing wrong here? It's illegal in a game right?

  2. #2
    Regular Member wilfredlgf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it bounces or contacts the racquet TWICE, then it's double hitting.
    Else, a sliced shot would be illegal if what you did was wrong.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "Double hitting" is not a fault if it happens during one continuous stroke movement.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Twickenham
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Drag shot legal?

    Ive been wondering if its legal to hit the shuttle accidently by dragging the racket. As in someone smashes the shuttle at u, u swing your racket as if your pushing the shuttle (kinda sticks to your racket for a split second) and it goes flying into the corner. Can anyone find any offcial rules on this?

    If you dont get what i mean, its like pushing the cue ball in snooker instead of hitting it.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    burnaby british columbia
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think the term you are describing is called a carry.It is a fault as it falls under the category of a double hit as it is the catching of the shuttle where the cork and then the feathers or the tail of the shuttle are contacted and then thrown off the stringbed.In most cases because the action is not deliberate most people in friendly games just let it go as part of the game.When there is a referee present in a tournament setting though it is deemed a fault.Sometimes ugly smash returns are also just carries and can be argued over as well.My way of dealing with this problem is if you agree to disagree then replay the rally.
    bighook

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i always thought it was fine as long as its in one motion

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesshieh88
    i always thought it was fine as long as its in one motion
    That's correct.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Twickenham
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    but what if they lob u, then u use one long motion to scoop it straight down?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,986
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A double hit is legal; a "scoop" or "carry" is not.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Law 13.6.1
    It is a fault if, in play, the shuttle is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    IMHO...
    i agree with neil_nicholls (Law 13.6.1) but Mag's comment is also correct...Mag's comment applies to an accidental double hit in one motion (usually happens when the cork hits the frame and the racket string hits it again after the follow thru)...this is almost invisible to the naked eye unless a super slow motion is done on video ....while Law 13.6.1 applies to a literally caught shuttle in the string (usually a feather caught in the string...that's why they used the "slung" term after the swing motion)...the latter, which applies to Law 13.6.1, very seldom happens...

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Am sorry, it's not just Mag who made the comment about double hit...jamesshie88 and Gollum did also...
    If it's accidental, i think it's legal...if it's an intentional scooping or carrying, it think it's a fault...

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Twickenham
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cheers guys, im just finding difficult to define it in words. Just that the rules are not totally clear. Like it can only contact the shuttle for 0.05 seconds lol

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    isn't slicing the shuttle like dragging it but at an angle?

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,986
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by splitstep
    cheers guys, im just finding difficult to define it in words. Just that the rules are not totally clear. Like it can only contact the shuttle for 0.05 seconds lol
    The rules are an attempt to define discrete categories of action, based on a continuous range of possible actions. This can never succeed completely.

    In other words, no definition is going to be perfectly precise. There are always grey areas; all we can ask from a definition is that it banishes indeterminacy to a sufficient degree.

    In practice, a blatant "catch, carry and sling" shot is illegal, but any other kind of double hit is not. It's not a problem unless unfair advantage can be gained by the player.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada, Mississauga
    Posts
    433
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wow. So you're allowed to hit the bird twice in one single stroke? I always thought that this was a fault and awarded my apponent a point or the serve...

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,986
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manduki
    Wow. So you're allowed to hit the bird twice in one single stroke? I always thought that this was a fault and awarded my apponent a point or the serve...
    Indeed you are allowed

    This happens quite frequently, though players may not always realise it. Many sliced shots (including serves) contact the shuttle twice (often the base is hit first, and then the feathers).

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. throwing racquet to recover shot - legal?
    By Capnx in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 02-13-2012, 05:37 PM
  2. Drag Coefficient
    By shiksha12 in forum Shuttlecock
    Replies: 16
    : 10-08-2008, 12:01 PM
  3. women´s double racquet
    By catchme05 in forum Racket Recommendation / Comparison
    Replies: 5
    : 10-29-2007, 04:17 PM
  4. Where Should You Hit The Shuttle For Every Shot?
    By magiadam in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 12
    : 03-20-2007, 07:22 AM
  5. Racquet Frame Design = Most Stable Shot
    By LouisW in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 10
    : 10-07-2005, 12:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •