Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread: Serve illegal?
12-14-2004, 05:06 PM #1
I was playing singles with a friend last week and was surprised to hear him say that a flick long serve (I don't know what to call it but I fake a slow swing then flick on impact to hit long) is illegal. So, is it? I'm not 100% sure since I've never had coaching in badminton.
12-14-2004, 05:19 PM #2
haha of course it's not illegal. maybe he's just annoyed with you for fooling him
12-14-2004, 06:33 PM #3
http://www.badmintoncentral.com/badminton-central/content/view/82/56/1/7/Originally Posted by silentlight
9.1.7 the movement of the serverâ€™s racket shall continue forwards from the start of the service (Law 9.4) until the service is delivered;
Meaning, so as long as you start slow, then flick, but without "recocking" the racket with a "backwards" motion, it's totally legal.
12-14-2004, 09:23 PM #4
Originally Posted by PingoOriginally Posted by Jinryu
He might be hitting it above waist height and that is what the receiver means, also the top of the racket head might be higher than the lowest part of the hand, not forgetting one foot might be moving, and the ever likley he might have a foot on the line or outwith the boundary area.
There are a few things that could be wrong with a service, make sure everything is within the guidelines and then take it from there.
By far the best thing to do is to ask him why he thinks it is illegal and then try and take it from there.
12-15-2004, 03:24 PM #5
Originally Posted by Dill
12-15-2004, 04:08 PM #6
Perhaps you jolt too much on your flick which made him to believe that you took two independent strokes? Most players won't complain if you have a smooth serve, even if you change the speed in the middle.
If you have problems with your opponent saying your serve is above waist level, tuck in your shirt. At the old place I used to play at, most of us had half our shirt tucked in to avoid confusion. I don't see that anymore over here. Is that a thing our small little town did or what?
12-15-2004, 04:10 PM #7
Originally Posted by meteo
03-14-2005, 02:04 AM #8
your serve should look like one continuous motion for it to be legal. if it's not one continuous motion, i think most referees would call it a fault. starting slow and speeding it up with a flick would work, as long as you do it in one smooth motion.
my personal favorite is serving short on a seemingly long serve motion in singles.
03-18-2005, 01:39 AM #9
can you tell me a body fake is allowed during a service ?
was playing a tourney and my opponent kept moving his body while he was serving - is this allowed ?
he was not lifting his legs or dragging them .. just swaying his body was if like a jerk ...
By decoy in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 11: 10-07-2011, 10:54 PM
By Renkinjutsushi in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 18: 11-18-2008, 07:33 PM
By sergesa in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 75: 04-10-2007, 12:54 AM
By yoyomonkey in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 7: 07-04-2006, 10:14 AM
By Sgt_Strider in forum General ForumReplies: 6: 07-23-2003, 08:18 PM