drop shot

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by redmage, Jan 29, 2005.

1. redmage

redmage New Member

hello i am new to the fourms and well have been playing abdminton for a few months now my question is my coach says that i should take a drop shot above or close to the net but i ususally get them near the middle but it is quickly ruled wrong by everyone at my club i was wondering if there is much of a difference in taking it at the top rather than at the middle if it goes over either way thats all that matters right, or am i using the wrong technique? well i hope you can help.

2. bighook

bighook New Member

student
    There is where you are capable of hitting it and where you aim to to try to hit it.The higher you hit the less time you give back to your opponents chances of hitting a decent or better return.Htting it earlier just increases your chances of success.Training for the highest quality return is what any coach should try to get you to strive for.

3. SystemicAnomaly

SystemicAnomaly Regular Member

pre-Occupied
    You coach is right... take the shuttle as high as you can! You have more options when you take the above the net or even close to the top. For every situation, you should always try to maximize the number of options that you have. This way you have more opportunity for deception.

Above the net, you may have the option of hitting a net kill. Close to the top of the net may not five you a kill opportunity but it gives you a lot more options than if you were to catch the shuttle lower. You can hit a more delicate straight net drop or you can impart more tumble to the shuttle (to make it more difficult for your opponent to handle). You also have a better opportunity of faking a straight hairpin drop, but then hit a crosscourt net drop or an attacking clear to either back corner.