Results 1 to 17 of 33
02-17-2005, 11:14 PM #1
Double hit/drag shot/shuttle sliding along racquet
I think that's the term. Lately, I have notice that I am kinda scrapping the birdie with my racket when i hit. What am I doing wrong here? It's illegal in a game right?
02-17-2005, 11:28 PM #2
If it bounces or contacts the racquet TWICE, then it's double hitting.
Else, a sliced shot would be illegal if what you did was wrong.
02-18-2005, 04:21 AM #3
"Double hitting" is not a fault if it happens during one continuous stroke movement.
02-23-2005, 05:53 PM #4
Drag shot legal?
Ive been wondering if its legal to hit the shuttle accidently by dragging the racket. As in someone smashes the shuttle at u, u swing your racket as if your pushing the shuttle (kinda sticks to your racket for a split second) and it goes flying into the corner. Can anyone find any offcial rules on this?
If you dont get what i mean, its like pushing the cue ball in snooker instead of hitting it.
02-23-2005, 06:05 PM #5
I think the term you are describing is called a carry.It is a fault as it falls under the category of a double hit as it is the catching of the shuttle where the cork and then the feathers or the tail of the shuttle are contacted and then thrown off the stringbed.In most cases because the action is not deliberate most people in friendly games just let it go as part of the game.When there is a referee present in a tournament setting though it is deemed a fault.Sometimes ugly smash returns are also just carries and can be argued over as well.My way of dealing with this problem is if you agree to disagree then replay the rally.bighook
02-23-2005, 10:31 PM #6
i always thought it was fine as long as its in one motion
02-24-2005, 04:03 AM #7Originally Posted by jamesshieh88
02-24-2005, 05:17 AM #8
but what if they lob u, then u use one long motion to scoop it straight down?
02-24-2005, 05:23 AM #9
A double hit is legal; a "scoop" or "carry" is not.
02-24-2005, 06:10 AM #10
It is a fault if, in play, the shuttle is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;
02-24-2005, 06:43 AM #11
i agree with neil_nicholls (Law 13.6.1) but Mag's comment is also correct...Mag's comment applies to an accidental double hit in one motion (usually happens when the cork hits the frame and the racket string hits it again after the follow thru)...this is almost invisible to the naked eye unless a super slow motion is done on video ....while Law 13.6.1 applies to a literally caught shuttle in the string (usually a feather caught in the string...that's why they used the "slung" term after the swing motion)...the latter, which applies to Law 13.6.1, very seldom happens...
02-24-2005, 06:49 AM #12
Am sorry, it's not just Mag who made the comment about double hit...jamesshie88 and Gollum did also...
If it's accidental, i think it's legal...if it's an intentional scooping or carrying, it think it's a fault...
02-24-2005, 11:51 AM #13
cheers guys, im just finding difficult to define it in words. Just that the rules are not totally clear. Like it can only contact the shuttle for 0.05 seconds lol
02-24-2005, 12:01 PM #14
isn't slicing the shuttle like dragging it but at an angle?
02-24-2005, 12:13 PM #15Originally Posted by splitstep
In other words, no definition is going to be perfectly precise. There are always grey areas; all we can ask from a definition is that it banishes indeterminacy to a sufficient degree.
In practice, a blatant "catch, carry and sling" shot is illegal, but any other kind of double hit is not. It's not a problem unless unfair advantage can be gained by the player.
02-26-2005, 12:20 AM #16
Wow. So you're allowed to hit the bird twice in one single stroke? I always thought that this was a fault and awarded my apponent a point or the serve...
02-26-2005, 04:59 AM #17Originally Posted by manduki
This happens quite frequently, though players may not always realise it. Many sliced shots (including serves) contact the shuttle twice (often the base is hit first, and then the feathers).
By Capnx in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 16: 02-13-2012, 06:37 PM
By shiksha12 in forum ShuttlecockReplies: 16: 10-08-2008, 01:01 PM
By catchme05 in forum Racket Recommendation / ComparisonReplies: 5: 10-29-2007, 05:17 PM
By magiadam in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 12: 03-20-2007, 08:22 AM
By LouisW in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 10: 10-07-2005, 01:21 AM