User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 18 to 33 of 33
  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Twickenham
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum
    Indeed you are allowed

    This happens quite frequently, though players may not always realise it. Many sliced shots (including serves) contact the shuttle twice (often the base is hit first, and then the feathers).
    So its ok if we dont realise it, not trying to play vollyball here right?

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,879
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by splitstep
    So its ok if we dont realise it, not trying to play vollyball here right?
    Yes exactly No spikes allowed!

  3. #20
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is impossible to define the length of time the shuttle is in contact with the racket. What might be easier to understand is that the shuttle may only be in contact with the racket moving in one direction.

    Eg. catching the shuttle on your racket would be one direction, then "slinging " the shuttle back would be contact in more than one direction.


    It is very common for the shuttle to be hit more than twice in a rally. As Gollum et al have said, drops are one example. others include pushes, some serves and some net shots. Accidental examples are usually in defence, wherby the player mistimes the stroke, uses his wrist too early and the shuttle is carry on the racket during his follow through.

    Whilst the rule may be ambiguous to read, once shown it in person it is obvious when a fault has been commited.

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    aujerbajan
    Posts
    1,159
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    in tournament play if this shot is hit once or twice it will not be called illegal unless it is blantently obvious. it is harder for the observer to see the slight carry than the player to feel it.

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In the men's singles 2004 olympic final between Taufik Hidayat and Shon Seng Mo, 1st game 7-2 Shon to serving. After Taufik's smash, Shon's return looked like a drag shot - not called, seems it is ignored.

  6. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Twickenham
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ao314
    In the men's singles 2004 olympic final between Taufik Hidayat and Shon Seng Mo, 1st game 7-2 Shon to serving. After Taufik's smash, Shon's return looked like a drag shot - not called, seems it is ignored.
    Did he win the point from it?

  7. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by splitstep
    Did he win the point from it?
    No, Shon didn't win the point.

  8. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Twickenham
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ao314
    No, Shon didn't win the point.
    u think if he won the point, a let might have been called

  9. #26
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    5,436
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by splitstep
    u think if he won the point, a let might have been called
    No because he didnt use two motions.

  10. #27
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Richmond, BC. Canada
    Posts
    363
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Birdie sliding along the racquet's surface = foul?

    Hi,

    Our group plays double a lot so I have many encounters with backhand kill and lift. Sometimes, when I did the backhands, the shuttle slided along the surface of my racquet before it bounced off near the rim or at the rim. I often got points this way so I felt a little guilty about it because I thought it may be a foul. What do you think? Is this a foul?

    ** I often wonder about whether my old string has something to do with it. My cab21 was strung with bg65, 23lbs, but it was left in the badminton bag for 7 years before I used it for 10 months. The string is still very tight. Should I cut this old string? This racquet can still make the smashing "bang" sound.

    Thanks.

  11. #28
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Should be fine if it's just one stroke. Check out past threads on sling and shuttle contact for clarity.

  12. #29
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Richmond, BC. Canada
    Posts
    363
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cappy75
    Should be fine if it's just one stroke. Check out past threads on sling and shuttle contact for clarity.
    Ah. Thank you.

  13. #30
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Sling vs. double-hit

    Double hits are usually OK it it is a single stroke. However, a sling or carry could be considered a fault according to IBF law 13.6.1

    "(It is a ‘fault’ if, in play, the shuttle) is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke"


    Check the laws at the following link:
    http://www.worldbadminton.net/Portal...s/laws2002.pdf

  14. #31
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    101
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Depends....

    It seems like a carry. Which is when the bird is stuck on the racket. But the might be a time restriction, like under 1/10 of a second or something. But as long as it's not obvious, like stuck on the racket.

  15. #32
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Richmond Hill
    Posts
    688
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The IBF Laws are like a Bible

  16. #33
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    12,515
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default merged threads

    three recent threads on the same topic are now merged

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. throwing racquet to recover shot - legal?
    By Capnx in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 02-13-2012, 05:37 PM
  2. Drag Coefficient
    By shiksha12 in forum Shuttlecock
    Replies: 16
    : 10-08-2008, 12:01 PM
  3. womens double racquet
    By catchme05 in forum Racket Recommendation / Comparison
    Replies: 5
    : 10-29-2007, 04:17 PM
  4. Where Should You Hit The Shuttle For Every Shot?
    By magiadam in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 12
    : 03-20-2007, 07:22 AM
  5. Racquet Frame Design = Most Stable Shot
    By LouisW in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 10
    : 10-07-2005, 12:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •