Results 18 to 30 of 30
Thread: My All England Trip Report
03-15-2005, 04:09 AM #18Originally Posted by hcpoirot
But you are right about the atmosphere in the hall!
03-15-2005, 05:03 AM #19Originally Posted by Anatolii
It appears that the 'overrule' decision by an umpire is in its experimental stage approved by the IBF. Such a rule allows the umpire to overrule or overturn a 'wrong' decision by the linejudge, for the time being until further notice, if the umpire is certain that the linejudge has made an error. In most cases an umpire can be more certain if a decision has to be made when the shuttle landed along the lines (short service and side lines preferably) near to where he is seated so that his vision is not impaired in anyway. For example, the umpire should not attempt to overrule if the shuttle landed far away from him on the opposite side.
Now we come back to the actual situation. Unfortunately it was not made clear what was actually at stake. Who served to whom? Did the Danes serve to the Chinese?
Assuming this is the case, the Danes served to the Chinese; the linejudge erred and called 'fault' (for a short service) but the Umpire saw the shuttle landing 'in' or a good serve, therefore he overruled the linejudge and gave the point to the Danes. In so doing, the Danes, by making a disputed 'good' serve, therefore continued to enjoy service and they also scored a point in the process.
If the opposite is true, ie, the Chinese served to the Danes, then the decision wouldl be the other way round and the Chinese would have scored a point and continued to maintain service.
03-15-2005, 05:23 AM #20Originally Posted by Anatolii
03-15-2005, 05:26 AM #21Originally Posted by Anatolii
03-15-2005, 05:30 AM #22Originally Posted by Dzgdz
03-15-2005, 05:58 AM #23Originally Posted by hcyong
03-15-2005, 07:21 AM #24Originally Posted by Loh
03-15-2005, 09:17 PM #25Originally Posted by *izzyC*
Michael Fyrie-Dahl of Norway was the umpire. I hate to say that he obviously did not update himself with the calls as he was still sticking to the very, very old call of "second service" instead of "second server" every time when the serve went to the second server. I hope the IBF has taken note of that so that there will not be further confusion by so-called qualified umpires themselves!
The Chinese had won the service and led 10-6. Cai served to Paaske. The Chinese won the point again 11-6 and then Cai served to JR from the Left Court. This was the serve that caused all the commotion and confusion!.
The shuttle landed close to JR's short service line. Apparently the linejudge, a big lady, must have called 'in', ie, a good serve from Cai, but JR disputed and umpire Dahl agreed with him (the replay also confirmed) and overruled the linejudge's decision and called out "second service", meaning Cai's serve was short and therefore was a fault and service then went to the second server, Fu. But Cai and Fu thought Cai's serve was good and Cai went over to his head coach, LYB, for clarification, which is not allowed under the rules, unless during the official breaks. So there were some shouting and gesticulation between Cai and LYB to straighten things out.
Nevertheless, the umpire stood firm and play continued with the Chinese losing the first serve and then Fu having to do the second serve. IMO, although he was right in his decision, the umpire did not make it clear to the players, maybe because of the language problem for the Chinese, that had led to this unsatisfactory state of affairs.
Of course, there were no points awarded during this melee and the score remained at 11-6 in the Chinese' favour, but now it was Fu's turn to do the second serve as instructed by the umpire.
Last edited by Loh; 03-15-2005 at 09:24 PM.
03-15-2005, 09:24 PM #26
andycmg, didn't you say you would upload some pictures?
03-16-2005, 01:00 AM #27Originally Posted by Loh
you can imagine my embarassment now esp since i told my mom the same thing when we watched the match together (along with my bro).
might sorry for ruining the thread content.
03-16-2005, 01:13 AM #28Originally Posted by Anatolii
03-16-2005, 03:31 AM #29Originally Posted by Loh
perfectly described, it was exactly as you said.
The umpire should have announced his decision more clearly. From the other hand the Chinese players (as well as other players) should be aware from that experimental rule. I think that the umpire should also worn CY for consultation with his coach.
03-16-2005, 04:34 AM #30Originally Posted by laughable c.
laughable c - There is another thread, titled Various All England Pics. There are about 12 pics or so in there. I will try and put some more up if I get the chance.
By kwun in forum Thomas/Uber Cup 2002Replies: 0: 05-15-2002, 03:15 PM
By kwun in forum 2001 Sudirman Cup / World ChampionshipsReplies: 10: 07-14-2001, 11:23 AM
By kwun in forum General ForumReplies: 9: 04-18-2001, 07:11 AM