need mixed double advice

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by floriina, Mar 24, 2005.

1. floriina

floriina Regular Member

hey everyone. my name is alexandra and i am 14 years old. i've been playing badminton for about five months now, at leats two hours everyday. i'm in grade eight and i made my school's team. i played mixed doubles. i have a tournament coming up this tuesday, and i need some advice on some things.

1) everytime someone smashes the shuttle at me, i always, and i mean always scream. my badminton coach has told me before that i have to stop screaming. he even wanted to duct tape my mouth shut. he always tells me to put my racket right in front of me when someone smashes it at me, but i NEVER have enough time. i have brusies all over me from shuttles getting smashed at me.

2) for about two weeks now, my hands have been shaking everytime i serve. i don't know what's going on. i'm pretty sure it's not because i'm nervous, because my serves are okay and they're usually low. and lately i've been messing up because of this, the shuttle just literally drops out of my hand when i try to serve it, they're shaking that bad.

i also have a question: should i always serve deep and high to the girl, because that's what my coach told me, but i don't think that's always the best thing to do, because some girls always have time to run back after reutrning a deep serve?

also, i have easter break now for four days, and i need to keep my traning up, so do you have any idead what i could work on, and what exercies i could do besides jogging and running?

thanks.

#1 floriina, Mar 24, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2005
  2. raptorman

raptorman Regular Member

where do you stand when receiving the smash?

3. floriina

floriina Regular Member

in the front, usually.

4. floriina

floriina Regular Member