Where to play in San Jose area?

Discussion in 'USA West' started by beerslayer, Mar 30, 2005.

1. beerslayer

beerslayer Regular Member

sending resumes into black holes
    Hi,

I'm looking to find places to play in the San Jose, CA area. I know that SJSU used to have open gym on Sat. and Sun. afternoons a year or so ago, but I've recently read that it is no longer being offered.

I did see Zclyh3's post from last September regarding weekday evening play, but I can't make it during the week (except possibly Fridays). I haven't found any sort of official page related to SJSU that states definitively when the gym is open - if there is such a page, I'd like to find it.

Also, I should mention that I'm very new to the sport - I know the basic rules of the game, and roughly how to hold the racquet and serve, but not much beyond that. It's hard to join into a match where everybody else is way above me in skill level, and some of the open gyms I've tried to play at have been full of very closed groups who look at us beginners/outsiders like pond scum. So I'd like to find someplace where beginners like me are welcome, and might even find a partner to play with.

Can anyone suggest some places where I might find an open gym at a reasonable price in this area?

By the way, if there are any other beginners in my area looking for an occasional weekend partner who will make you look good by comparison, let me know! :)

-- Jeff
    -- aka The Eternal Newbie :)

#1 beerslayer, Mar 30, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    beerslayer,

welcome to BC and also welcome to badminton. being a beginner is tough for the reason you mentioned, it is hard to find someone in the similar level to play with. especially when the gyms are usually packed with people.

do you have friends who are going with you? most beginners i see in the local gyms go in a group so they can play with each other. most lone gym-goers are usually more established players.