User Tag List

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5
Results 69 to 77 of 77
  1. #69
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loopy
    The commentators said it too, alrthough in a more brit manner.
    Was it something like:
    "Oh my word! What do you think of that call?"
    "That's a tough one for the umpire to call"

  2. #70
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    LuckyTown
    Posts
    777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    Quote Originally Posted by Loopy
    The commentators said it too, alrthough in a more brit manner.
    Was it something like:
    "Oh my word! What do you think of that call?"
    "That's a tough one for the umpire to call"
    lol, not like that...
    It's something like
    "The umpire called a fault on Zhou for hitting the birdie before it crossed the net...
    Now let's take a look at this (replay)...
    ... a marginal call.... That's a little harsh...."

    Typically brit no?

  3. #71
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation !

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    The only time it is legal to have your racquet go over the net is
    You hit the shuttle on your side of the net,
    the shuttle goes over the net,
    and then, only after both those things have happened, your racquet can go over the net if it is a continuation of the same stroke.

    That, I believe, is the exact interpretation.
    Can't be right as there will be times when your racquet will be completely on your side of the net, contact is made on your side of the net but the top of your racquet head crosses the plane of the net before the shuttle does. E.g. in diagram #4 by Gollum, what happens if the net and vertical plane of the net are transposed to the left such that the tip of the racquet head touches the vertical plane. Then the entire racquet is on your side of the court but since the shuttle is contacting the angled racquet head a few centimetres away from the vertical plane, with the slightest forward motion at all the tip of the racquet head will cross the vertical plane before the shuttle does. Don't think the spirit of the law would want this to be a fault.

    More generally, I agree with Mag that nothing in the Laws says situation #4 is illegal.

    13.3 is read as follows:
    If B then A.
    (In parentheses) If C then NOT A.
    13.4.2 is read as follows:
    If D then A.
    If D AND (NOT B) then NOT A.

    Where:
    A = "it is a fault"
    B = "the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker's side of the net"
    C = "follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke"
    D = "invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person"

    The independence / non-mutually-exclusiveness of these propositions does not allow one to say anything about NOT C.
    I.e. You can invade an opponent's court over the net with racket or person if the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker's side of the net with other clauses suggesting you cannot touch any part of the net with the racquet on your follow-through, cannot impede opponent's reply to your shot, etc.
    Even if trying to infer the spirit of the rule from C or NOT C, keep in mind that this is in parentheses suggesting one possible exclusion and does not necessarily cover ALL possible exclusions-- else the parentheses would be eliminated.

  4. #72
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quisitor
    ... there will be times when your racquet will be completely on your side of the net, contact is made on your side of the net but the top of your racquet head crosses the plane of the net before the shuttle does.
    yes. And my contention is that that is a fault

    Quote Originally Posted by quisitor
    More generally, I agree with Mag that nothing in the Laws says situation #4 is illegal.
    I think it does (technically, even if the umpire cannot be expected to see it)

    Quote Originally Posted by quisitor
    13.3 is read as follows:
    If B then A.
    (In parentheses) If C then NOT A.
    13.4.2 is read as follows:
    If D then A.
    If D AND (NOT B) then NOT A.

    Where:
    A = "it is a fault"
    B = "the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker's side of the net"
    C = "follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke"
    D = "invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person"
    If D AND (NOT B) then NOT A.
    that is a mistake
    It is always a fault to invades an opponent's court over the net with person.
    There is only an exclusion for invading an opponent's court over the net with racket, i.e. C.

    and that is the basis of my stance on situation #4
    It is only an exclusion if the shuttle goes over the net before the racket.

  5. #73
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default interesting

    nice discussion all great pics!

    i think rule is clear to understand. whenever you intrude on the other side
    on the net it is a fault EXCEPT if the motion which goes over the net comes
    from continuation of same strike, where ball was hit on own side of the court.

    i think that the reason for this exception comes from health reasons....
    if i were to smash the ball with power just near the net and i couldn't
    swing my hand/arm naturally it may give me injury to my wrist/hand/arm,
    thus the exception.

    does this sounds clear to you?

  6. #74
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If I were the umpire, I would treat this case as legal: "my" emphasis is on the contact point of the shuttle.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum
    If it is legal, then any net shot, no matter how tight, can be killed - provided the player is ready for it.
    Yes. In fact, some world class players can actually kill a net shot which is only "a few" cm above the net, when his/her position on the court is good enough...and I have also done this, although very luckily, when the shuttle is 5 cm above the net.

  7. #75
    Regular Member Henzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Heiloo, Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I Love this discussion. I am not the only one who really thinks about these things

  8. #76
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Are the rules in this thread still valid or have they been changed since 2005? I ask this because from reading this thread it seems like it is legal as long as the initial contract point was on your side of the net where as when I watch the professionals play, Gill Clark always comments that a shot is not legal because the entire shuttle has not crossed the net but the initial contact was definitely made on the player's own side. Thanks in advance for your clarification!

  9. #77
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cal Central
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vctrku View Post
    Are the rules in this thread still valid or have they been changed since 2005? I ask this because from reading this thread it seems like it is legal as long as the initial contract point was on your side of the net where as when I watch the professionals play, Gill Clark always comments that a shot is not legal because the entire shuttle has not crossed the net but the initial contact was definitely made on the player's own side. Thanks in advance for your clarification!
    Read the very top of the rules/tournament ... thread listing, that is likely a good copy of current laws from BWF (excepting the serving ht experiment), or click here.

    Quote Originally Posted by Henzy View Post
    I Love this discussion. I am not the only one who really thinks about these things
    Thanks Fellow for reviving a nine year thread.
    Sometimes it is best just to let sleeping dawgs take their slumber in peace.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5

Similar Threads

  1. Net Kills
    By CkcJsm in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 02-26-2009, 08:00 PM
  2. Apple Aperture kills Photoshop...
    By aquaboi in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 10
    : 03-27-2008, 11:36 AM
  3. What kills the shot
    By Jumpalot in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 10
    : 08-04-2005, 07:00 PM
  4. Any drills to help improve net kills?
    By oab729 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 6
    : 04-22-2005, 11:13 AM
  5. brushes & kills ?
    By Jessica in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 6
    : 12-04-2001, 10:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •