User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Anyone knows how the call should go...

    Birdie stuck on the racket.... I think a let...


    regards

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I would say fault

    Law 13.2.3
    It is a fault if, in play, the shuttle fails to pass the net


    BUT
    what if:
    you were playing a net kill
    you initially contact the shuttle on your side of the net
    the shuttle sticks to the racquet (e.g. broken string, cork goes through)
    your follow through pushes the shuttle over the net, followed by the racquet

    It's not a double hit
    it's almost a sling as in 13.6.1, it is caught and held but NOT slung

    so do we then get a let under 14.1.7 ?
    Let shall be called...if any unforseen or accidental situation has occurred

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hmm.. I wasn't there.. but to the best of my understanding... the bird stuck featherside.

    No following up on the rule of the bird not crossing over... how about a bird stuck to net... this is a let, but the bird doesn't go over. Is my understanding right?

    Anyone...

    regards

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pball
    hmm.. I wasn't there.. but to the best of my understanding... the bird stuck featherside.

    No following up on the rule of the bird not crossing over... how about a bird stuck to net... this is a let, but the bird doesn't go over. Is my understanding right?

    Anyone...

    regards
    During service, it is fault as Rule 13.8
    if, on service, the shuttle is caught on the net and remains suspended on top or, on service, after passing over the net, is caught in the net.

    During play, it is let as Rule14.1.3
    a shuttle is caught on the net and remains suspended on top or, after passing over the net, is caught in the net, except on service;

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pball
    hmm.. I wasn't there.. but to the best of my understanding... the bird stuck featherside.

    No following up on the rule of the bird not crossing over... how about a bird stuck to net... this is a let, but the bird doesn't go over. Is my understanding right?

    Anyone...

    regards
    Bird stuck on racquet is a fault after all, the shuttle never did cross the net.

    For bird stuck on net, if it is on your side (i.e. did not cross over), it is a fault otherwise rule 14.1.3 applies. The reason being your opponent was not given the opportunity to do a return.

Similar Threads

  1. Help Call~
    By emphard94 in forum Market Place
    Replies: 0
    : 01-05-2009, 12:21 AM
  2. Why we call it shuttlecock?
    By paparazzi in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 11
    : 10-08-2008, 08:23 PM
  3. IBF call for EGM
    By cxytdn in forum General Forum
    Replies: 12
    : 08-29-2006, 03:26 AM
  4. a call for zhi
    By Iwan in forum General Forum
    Replies: 0
    : 02-27-2002, 12:58 AM
  5. Call me - D
    By Terri585072 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 0
    : 01-12-2002, 05:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •