Gripping high up the handle

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by david14700, Jun 6, 2005.

1. david14700

david14700 Regular Member

I've been playing for about 25 years, and gradually my grip has gone further and further up the handle. I've found that the shorter grip allows quicker response times and better net kills. You lose power on smashes but that's made up for by more accuracy and a better defence, and hopefully your technique improves over time to make your smashes hard enough.

As I get older, I'm being tempted to grip lower down for more power again.

How many of you grip high and does it make a big difference in your power shots?

2. sanjay

sanjay Regular Member

ive just started playing so im not too sure about it during a game..but when i practice against a wall..i find its easier when holding it higher on the grip.

3. raptorman

raptorman Regular Member

My grip is only high when playing at the net.

4. DarthHowie

DarthHowie Regular Member

Software Developer & Assistant Coach @ GBC
    You raise a good point.

(in doubles...could be applied to singles):
    When up front making net shots your grip should be higher up in the handle (my index finger reaches around the "cone" of a yonex racquet) allowing for more control and accuracy.

When playing back court i change my grip down to the bottom handle to generate more power.

In general you should always be changing grips: i.e forehand, backhand grip...as well as whether you're in the front or back court.

5. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

First, I would like to say, I am getting old too. because I am feeling the same as david14700. I found myself playing more and more control game and doing smashing for final kill only. I do see myself holding racquet close to the cone. And yes, my smash is not as fast and powerful as when I was in teen. Also, the gray hair does not help either...:crying:

6. Dill

Dill Regular Member

Lazy git (my coach can verify this)