Results 1 to 17 of 18
06-13-2005, 01:10 PM #1
Who can serve and receive first in mixed doubles?
Some days ago I was witness of hottest debates: One man said that only ladies can serve and receive the very first service of any game in mixed doubles, and the second said that any player can do it. Who is right?
06-13-2005, 01:48 PM #2
Originally Posted by Michael.ru
I can't give you an exact quote right now but I believe international badminton rules actually say that any player can serve or receive first in mixed.
06-13-2005, 02:26 PM #3
I believe either player can serve 1st, and seen that been done in some local tournaments.
06-13-2005, 02:31 PM #4
I dont know if its a rule but it seems to me that its just one of those things that done, in keeping with the 'ladies first' idea.
Badminton is old fashioned, putting women at the front because they're weaker. I know some who would attack me if I said that was true
Last edited by pengu1ns; 06-13-2005 at 02:33 PM.
06-13-2005, 03:36 PM #5
No , it's not mandatory that ladies serves / receives first . But I guess a reason why they might is because it is more convenient -> the lady is already at the front side of the court , ready to take on any net returns and the guy is already at the back ( already formed the traditional front and back position )
06-13-2005, 06:59 PM #6
There are no rules as to whether the man or the lady has to serve/receive first. There is a general principle that the weaker player should be the one to serve/receive first and that is usually the lady. The same is true in level doubles It is also good tactics if the lady is not strong enough to play level doubles style of mixed. Watch the chinese mixed, the ladies there can play from the back and are probably better than most men, certainly better than me
06-14-2005, 01:47 AM #7
Not only can either player be the first server/receiver, but within a match, at the start of subsequent games, the players can swap round.
So the lady might be first server/receiver in game 1, the man could be first in game 2, and they could change back again if they wanted in game 3 (and games 4 and 5 during the 5x7 times)
06-14-2005, 04:37 AM #8
i play mixed(im the guy) and i always do and recieve the first serve. if we win first set but things didnt go as smoothly or it was pretty close, sometimes my girl will serve first on the 2nd set, just to change it up a little. but for the most part, theres a mutual understanding that im always going to start the game
06-19-2005, 09:07 AM #9
I play mixed a lot and yes, there is no law or restriction on who serve first or second. I generally let my partner (female player) serve first, as weaker player serve first idea. Also, it is easlier for me to remember or keep track of the score. Also, sometimes your opponent will have the guy serve first, then I will do a match up and I will recieve first.
06-19-2005, 10:05 AM #10
There is no restriction on who to serve first. Weather the player is weak or not. Usually it is a mutual understanding between the partner on who would want to serve first.
06-19-2005, 03:33 PM #11
Originally Posted by ants
06-20-2005, 01:30 AM #12
Originally Posted by tinkerbella122
It depends on the combination of the two players strengths and weaknesses.
At higher levels, yes, but at lower levels I would put serve/service return consistency as one of the top criteria for who should serve/receive first.
e.g. If the lady has a poor serve which often gets killed, it's a waste of a serve to have the lady serve first.
06-20-2005, 06:44 PM #13
Originally Posted by Neil NichollsOriginally Posted by msharpes
And why is the general principle " the weaker player should be the one to serve/receive first " ???
06-21-2005, 01:33 AM #14
As usual, it depends.
I did say "one of the top criteria"
You would normally want the stronger player to cover the rear court. This is a reason for having the weaker player serve/receive first.
It depends how big the differences are between the 2 partners abililty in the various areas.
06-21-2005, 02:39 AM #15
When we play mxd or men's doubles, the weaker partner usually serves first. This will bring us to an attack position immediately.
When I play with a partner of equal ability, i usually take the first serve.
06-21-2005, 03:00 AM #16
I agree it generally holds true that the stronger partner should not serve first. He/she should guard the back and mount the attacks if possible.
If one partner is consistently very good at service, then he/she should serve first. A good low serve can force the receiver to lift for your strong partner to attack the return. Thus one can really win points from a good serve and this should be capitalized.
06-21-2005, 04:29 PM #17
Originally Posted by Loh
By jam0202 in forum Canada WestReplies: 0: 05-27-2010, 12:10 AM
By eguitarcoolboy in forum Coaching ForumReplies: 0: 02-20-2010, 08:50 AM
By DivingBirdie in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 07-12-2007, 10:58 AM
By Mausje in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 1: 07-16-2006, 06:06 PM
By Angelou in forum Badminton Tournament Video SharingReplies: 1: 06-22-2006, 12:07 PM