User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Shuttle caught in net.

    We had the following situation:
    My opponent hit the shuttle with much pace, from near ground and the midcourt straight ~5cm below the net-edge and the shuttle got caught in net on his side (did not fall to ground). From my physical expertise it is impossible that the shuttle could get over the net from this trajectory, but my opponent insisted upon it would have gone over net when it did not got caught into it. (It was the match point (26/24) so it got very emotional...)
    From my point of view it was a definite point for me, but he insisted on repetition....
    Who is right?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,873
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    FAULTS
    It shall be a "fault":
    ...
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle
    ...
    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;

    source: http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/#12

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Is it still fault when the net was not perfect, there was a small hole (5cm below net-edge) where the shuttle-head got caught in.

    In the end we had to start after 3 close sets again from 0:0 -.-, but this time i won in 2 sets single-digit

  4. #4
    Regular Member visor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    9,373
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fidget View Post
    FAULTS
    It shall be a "fault":
    ...
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle
    ...
    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;

    source: http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/#12
    But it shall be a let according to :

    LETS

    14.1 "Let" shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play.
    14.2.3 after the service is returned, the shuttle is:
    14.2.3.1 caught on the net and remains suspended on its top, or 14.2.3.2 after passing over the net is caught in the net;

    So, which is correct?

  5. #5
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,698
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Who is right?

    Quote Originally Posted by greblu View Post
    We had the following situation:
    My opponent hit the shuttle with much pace, from near ground and the midcourt straight ~5cm below the net-edge and the shuttle got caught in net on his side (did not fall to ground). From my physical expertise it is impossible that the shuttle could get over the net from this trajectory, but my opponent insisted upon it would have gone over net when it did not got caught into it. (It was the match point (26/24) so it got very emotional...)
    From my point of view it was a definite point for me, but he insisted on repetition....
    Who is right?
    .
    Fidget has answered the question correctly. You are right.

    The Laws state that;
    It shall be a "fault":
    ...
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle
    ...
    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net

    source: http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/#12

    The key words are "fails to pass over the net".

    And as visor has replied (about the shuttlecock being caught in the net);

    It shall be a "let", only if
    14.2.3.2 after passing over the net is caught in the net.
    .

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When I think know about it it has to be fault, because there where not made any "special"-rules about the net before the game, like they are made to sports-tools at the roof. So it's obviously a FAULT.
    thanks

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by visor View Post
    But it shall be a let according to :

    LETS

    14.1 "Let" shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play.
    14.2.3 after the service is returned, the shuttle is:
    14.2.3.1 caught on the net and remains suspended on its top, or 14.2.3.2 after passing over the net is caught in the net;

    So, which is correct?
    Guess Both of them are right,

    the second only only applies inmidietly after service (before the receiver hit the shuttle) , if the receiver does not have the chance to return the service....

Similar Threads

  1. The lucky guy whom caught LD's racquet.
    By PaulShen in forum Olympics BEIJING 2008
    Replies: 14
    : 08-27-2008, 12:28 AM
  2. Ghost Caught On Tape
    By Temasek Green in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 16
    : 07-18-2008, 04:13 AM
  3. caught up to your opponents pace
    By MouZe in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 10
    : 10-05-2005, 10:11 AM
  4. Criminal caught red handed!
    By splitstep in forum General Forum
    Replies: 32
    : 02-16-2005, 07:56 PM
  5. Sosa caught cheating?
    By Yodums in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 7
    : 06-05-2003, 07:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •