Returning low drives and half-court shots

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by rebelsage, Jun 23, 2005.

1. rebelsage

rebelsage Regular Member

Banker
    Hi. I've been playing doubles for 1 1/2 years. I'm looking for a better way to handle shots that land in the farther half of the court (away from the net) that I have to bend low and reach for, especially on my backhand. These occur when opponents return serves with half-court drives to the alley or after some rally where I need to move side to side.

I've tried straight and cross-court drops, but opponents anticipate these after a while and adopt a front-back attacking position. This then puts pressure on me to hit more precise drops. I've also tried attacking clears but I have difficulty consistently getting depth from the backhand side.

Look foward to your suggestions. Thanks.

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

If the shuttle is low in your midcourt, then you don't really have any options. You must lift it to the back.

If the shuttle is a little higher (near net height), you can attempt a straight drive or push to the midcourt.

That's why these returns of service - push to the midcourt alley - are such difficult shots to return: you are pretty much forced to lift.

3. Hello0

Hello0 Regular Member

You could tell your partner in front to try to cut it off by standing farther behind the service line, or start closer behind your partner to turn it in to a push or drive.

4. Pball

Pball Regular Member

As usual .. the answer is practice, practice, practice. Develope a stronger backhand. usually I try to clear it to either box (right box for my forehand, left box for my backhand) or the back T. Just make sure you get enough depth. If you can develope faster reflexes, so much the better, you can take drive earlier and drive it back.

regards

#4 Pball, Jun 24, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2005
  5. cappy75

cappy75 Regular Member

Depot Support Representative