User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Help with serving rules.

    Hello, I've been reading about serving and I am a little confused on exactly how it works. A friend and I have been playing badminton for a few months and we got our rules from online, and I'm reading it over again and I can't really understand what these rules mean.

    9.1.3 some part of both feet of the server and receiver shall remain in contact with the surface of the
    court in a stationary position from the start of the service (Law 9.4) until the service is delivered
    (Law 9.5);

    and

    Once started (Law 9.4), the service is delivered when the shuttle is hit by the serverís racket or, in attempting to serve, the server misses the shuttle.

    Does this mean that the reciever can't move his feet at all before he hits the shuttle back, what if the server hits it over the receivers head and he can't reach it without moving or jumping? Also does the receiver have to hit it back towards the server or can he hit it anywhere? And finally once the server hits the shuttle can he move out of his box to anywhere on the court?

    Sorry for all the stupid questions, but I'm new and I love badminton,
    Thanks,
    Vincent.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moses
    Does this mean that the reciever can't move his feet at all before he hits the shuttle back, what if the server hits it over the receivers head and he can't reach it without moving or jumping? Also does the receiver have to hit it back towards the server or can he hit it anywhere? And finally once the server hits the shuttle can he move out of his box to anywhere on the court?
    Everyone can move to whatever place he wants after the server has hit the shuttle.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by raptorman
    Everyone can move to whatever place he wants after the server has hit the shuttle.

    Does this mean that once he has hit the shuttle, the reciever can step out of his box and move as close to the net as he wants? Or does he have to stay inside his box untill he hits the shuttle back?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moses
    Does this mean that once he has hit the shuttle, the reciever can step out of his box and move as close to the net as he wants? Or does he have to stay inside his box untill he hits the shuttle back?
    Like I said, he can move everywhere (as long as it's inside the field), so also out of his box.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    [ON . Canada] [GuangZhou . China]
    Posts
    464
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does this mean that the reciever can't move his feet at all before he hits the shuttle back

    It means that the reciever can't rush -> he can only move after the server had made contact with the shuttlecock

    what if the server hits it over the receivers head and he can't reach it without moving or jumping?

    ^^ he can move when the server had made contact with the shuttlecock

    Also does the receiver have to hit it back towards the server or can he hit it anywhere?

    He can hit it anywhere

    And finally once the server hits the shuttle can he move out of his box to anywhere on the court?

    Yep

    Hope I've helped

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moses
    Does this mean that once he has hit the shuttle, the reciever can step out of his box and move as close to the net as he wants? Or does he have to stay inside his box untill he hits the shuttle back?
    The receiver stays with both feet planted UNTIL the SERVER contacts the shuttle with the racket, after which the RECEIVER is free to rush, jump back, whatever, ANYWHERE within the court (or even outside, for that matter), in order to return the shuttle.

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Forehand serving rules
    By S.fusion in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 11-16-2011, 03:28 AM
  2. Serving-New Rules
    By CkcJsm in forum General Forum
    Replies: 24
    : 06-22-2006, 09:10 AM
  3. Badminton rules for serving
    By MarcRafles in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 07-20-2004, 02:05 PM
  4. Rules on serving
    By Bob Kishi in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 12-11-2000, 05:47 PM
  5. Rules during serving
    By Dr. J.David in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 05-22-2000, 02:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •