community center drop ins

Discussion in 'Canada West' started by QQ123, Jul 11, 2005.

1. QQ123

QQ123 New Member

hi. i'm new to the sport badminton and i want to start dropping in at local community center. i know renfrew community center has youth badminton over the summer, but how does it work? i've never been to any drop ins before and i don't have a partner to play with. Do i play with other people who don't have a partner there or do i have to find a partner first? and if i play with other people, will there be people who are at the similar beginner level as me? or is youth badminton at renfrew or other community centre drop ins only for more competitive players ? basicly, how does the whole thing work ?? :p

2. wood_22_chuck

wood_22_chuck Regular Member

Electronics Technologist
    Welcome to BadmintonForum :D

Renfrew has a sign-up blackboard. The organizers will draw squares on the board and it's first-come, first serve to sign up in the squares. Four players complete the square and play on the next available court.

When you finish, you sign up again.

You MUST practise have a thick-skin, as the players there are very clique-ish, and will by-pass your square if they think you're "not good enough," or "too good" for them.

There are beginners there, and it's very easy to make friends with them. Smile and ask to join and sign-up together.

Have fun!

By the way, how are you getting around? Drive, or bus? Depending on your mode of transport, there are various places around the lower mainland, Burnaby, Surrey, Richmond etc. limited by how you get there and the playing hours at the community centres.

-dave

3. wing-omega5-0

wing-omega5-0 Regular Member

Student(uni)
    daytime dropin(for adults) at cambie's always good.
    its avaible monday to friday 11:45-2:30 for....iuno wut the price is cause i'm only 14 XD. way it works is that theres a signup sheet dat u just write ur name on.