User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 20
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default touching the line consider in?

    if the birdie touch the white line in singles does tat consider a in? not side line

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo 'n Sweden
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by changlong
    if the birdie touch the white line in singles does tat consider a in? not side line
    assuming you know what lines apply in the situation the yes, if it touches the line a fraction then it's in

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    laws of badminton states its a fault;

    13.2 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 lands outside the boundaries of the court (ie not on or within the boundary lines);

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TW
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lorus_blue
    laws of badminton states its a fault;

    13.2 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 lands outside the boundaries of the court (ie not on or within the boundary lines);
    It's In, not a fault

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    387
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    its still in if it touches the line, depending on the boundary/line your using (if your playing singles or doubles)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluejeff
    It's In, not a fault
    I don't think he was saying it was a fault, he was just pointing out the relevant law.
    It's not obvious though.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluejeff
    It's In, not a fault
    yes it's a fault if the shuttle lands outside the boundaries or beyond the lines
    Last edited by lorus_blue; 08-10-2005 at 10:11 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Richmond Hill
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Is it in even if the shuttle only touch the very very edge of the line?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    a line is a line... so if it visible that it has touched the line with the naked eye... then its in... even if its just a lil bit.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes touching the line no matter how much the birdie touches it, the shot is still in. man...just if some of the people at the clubs understood that simple, simple concept.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Coquitlam, BC
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Average
    yes touching the line no matter how much the birdie touches it, the shot is still in. man...just if some of the people at the clubs understood that simple, simple concept.
    ...hmm...yeah...i guess that makes sense...but i've always figured...if less than half the bird touches it...then it's out. cause how i see it is that the ground acts as a tangent to the circular head of the bird. so...if the bird is less than half of the way in...then i'd call it out cause based on the tangent and circle idea thingy...there's no way the bird could've touched the line even though it might look like it from looking down on it if it's passed half-way. but as long as it's close enough...i'll give it to em...

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i know what ya mean super~me, thats a good point. when it is too close to call ill normally let people that are not playing decide on whether it is out or not or ill just give it to them like you would.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i know what ya mean super~me, thats a good point. when it is too close to call ill normally let people that are not playing decide on whether it is out or not or ill just give it to them like you would.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    san francisco ca
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes..it will called in..even it is just touch the edge of the line.............

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Redditch, Worcs
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Average
    i know what ya mean super~me, thats a good point. when it is too close to call ill normally let people that are not playing decide on whether it is out or not or ill just give it to them like you would.
    I agree if it is close or I couldn't see clearly then I'll ask the people behind the court or give the point if no-one is behind.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Coquitlam, BC
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Average
    i know what ya mean super~me, thats a good point. when it is too close to call ill normally let people that are not playing decide on whether it is out or not or ill just give it to them like you would.
    ...yeah...that works too...but then when we play at school tournaments or regular tournaments...you often get these annoying opponents who live by the rule that if you're unsure or if you didn't call it in or out right away, then they get the benefit of the doubt when it comes to you...and totally forget bout it when it happens to them...but otherwise...either just get a line judge or just give them the benefit of the doubt if you're unsure...

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    indeed, or you could just replay the serve if no one can make the call for sure

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Touching story of Puppy Mari
    By george@chongwei in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 3
    : 11-17-2009, 04:51 AM
  2. Rule Query - Touching the net
    By collinsc in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 3
    : 10-28-2009, 07:12 AM
  3. Huang Sui - A Touching Story
    By kwun in forum China Professional Players
    Replies: 55
    : 04-13-2009, 01:35 AM
  4. The Line uP between CHN vs INA
    By Melmel in forum Sudirman Cup 2005
    Replies: 5
    : 05-12-2005, 06:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •