Effortless Clears

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Jimbo10, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Jimbo10

Jimbo10 Regular Member

I am what you call a 'passive' user of this forum. I often browse through threads to supplement my badminton. However, on many occasions, I have read people can do a high forehand clear from baseline to baseline easily. However, my best is from the doubles backline to the other one with a lot of effort, almost as much as a smash. I have made an effort to find what I'm doing wrong, but I haven't found any. Ie, I have a side on action, I pronate my forearm, etc.
    Can someone please give some advice :)

#1 Jimbo10, Aug 9, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2005
  2. MikeJ

MikeJ Regular Member

IT Consultant
    Hello. :D

(first of all, I'm no expert. :D this is just my 2 cents worth....)

I'm assuming that your form/technique is ok (e.g. footwork, arm pronation, hip-torso rotation, etc). Given those factors, maybe your hitting the shuttlecock too late (when it's almost directly above you; at 12 o'clock position). Try hitting the shuttle a little earlier (maybe between 11 o'clock or 10:30 positions) (or, try getting in-front of the shuttle more)

I hope this helps. :D If not, maybe other (and more qualified) people here can give more sound advice. :D

Good luck! :D

3. keith_aquino

keith_aquino Regular Member

part-time student, full-time baddy fanatic
    Hmm... I think the two main factors would be your body type and form.
    Since I'm a thin guy, I also need to place more effort than a larger guy's.
    Still you can make up for this with form. Light weights in the gym might help too. You can check out the plethora of info for form in this forum. Since this is your first post, I'm assuming your new here. WELCOME! :)

4. Togey

Togey Regular Member

are you gripping the racquet right? i had trouble clearing until i switched to the forehand grip (had universal/pan-handle grip before)

5. coops241180

coops241180 Regular Member

Product Owner