User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rules question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    573
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Rules question

    Can anyone tell me what the rule is when this happens:

    The other side smash at us, and our return is weak and high, floating high above the net. It's too weak to go over the net and is actually dropping down on our own side BUT as it falling past the tape, long before it hits the floor, the opponent at the net takes a swipe, thinking it's going to come over and touches the tape with his racket.

    So, when is the point over? When the shuttle hits the floor? (we lose) Or when the opponent touches the net? (they lose).

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Can't touch the net during rally. Period. You guys got the point.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Notnimdab729's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    874
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile rules

    Hi David 14700,
    Once the shuttle still in play, if yr opponent racket hit the net, then, it is a fault. The point is yrs.The umpire has the final say since he will be closest to the net.
    Lee
    Quote Originally Posted by david14700
    Can anyone tell me what the rule is when this happens:

    The other side smash at us, and our return is weak and high, floating high above the net. It's too weak to go over the net and is actually dropping down on our own side BUT as it falling past the tape, long before it hits the floor, the opponent at the net takes a swipe, thinking it's going to come over and touches the tape with his racket.

    So, when is the point over? When the shuttle hits the floor? (we lose) Or when the opponent touches the net? (they lose).

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    from the rules

    It is a Ďfaultí:

    13.3 if, when in play, the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the strikerís side of the net. (The
    striker may, however, follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke);


    In your example the point is over the instant the racquet touches the shuttle.

    EDIT:

    Oops! Misread the original post!

    Last edited by Tomsk; 09-12-2005 at 10:43 AM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,514
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    17. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:

    17.2 strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the strikerís side of the net;


    It's a matter of timing and a judgement call, but technically the shuttle does not have to land to ruled "not in play".

    Often it is hard to call since it could be split second between the shuttle hitting the net (on the striker side) and the opponent hitting the net. Since it is hard to call, in minor tournaments or where there is no judge, the person who hit the net is usually called at fault.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    299
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    But if i smash and the bird hit the floor then my follow trough touch the tape, I mean it's very clear that the point was over. Or if i touch the net with my body after do i still lose the point

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,514
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Benasp
    But if i smash and the bird hit the floor then my follow trough touch the tape, I mean it's very clear that the point was over. Or if i touch the net with my body after do i still lose the point
    The shuttle touching the floor will end the play, so your follow through action won't affect the outcome - technically speaking.

    Again, often it is not just a matter of what occured first but what is spotted and judged to have occured first. Unfortunately, it is not always clear cut as to which occured first, since when you wind up touching the net, likely (if there are no judges) the attention will be directed to your follow through action and not to the actual moment the shuttle lands in your opponents court.

    Without instant replay it's often the judgment call.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by badrad
    The shuttle touching the floor will end the play, so your follow through action won't affect the outcome - technically speaking.

    Again, often it is not just a matter of what occured first but what is spotted and judged to have occured first. Unfortunately, it is not always clear cut as to which occured first, since when you wind up touching the net, likely (if there are no judges) the attention will be directed to your follow through action and not to the actual moment the shuttle lands in your opponents court.

    Without instant replay it's often the judgment call.
    can the umpire call a "Let" if he is unable to make a judgement? or is he obliged to make a judgement?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Benasp
    Or if i touch the net with my body after do i still lose the point
    if it is after the shuttle is on the floor, touching the net is not a fault.

    this happened in the WC05 match between Peter Gade and Chen Hong.
    Chen rushed in to the net for a kill and his body followed through into the net, but the shuttle was already dead so he won the point.

Similar Threads

  1. Question on rules
    By kohch99 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 01-13-2008, 01:32 PM
  2. question on rules
    By fred51 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 7
    : 02-27-2006, 10:41 AM
  3. Rules: Stupid Question but.......
    By varadero in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 12-19-2005, 09:28 AM
  4. Rules question...
    By graphite in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 12-13-2004, 01:45 AM
  5. Rules Question
    By eggroll in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 5
    : 11-19-2004, 11:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •