Results 1 to 17 of 52
Thread: Common Misconceptions
09-12-2005, 06:04 PM #1
Well, since badminton is taught at different levels and phys-ed teachers may alter the rules for max game play for his purpose. There are a few rules that no one, I mean NO ONE in my school knew and after I enlightened them, they did not believe until the coach vocuhed for me.
1. Your racket CANNOT cross over the net anytime. It may cross if the birdie was on your court when it was hit and if it was the result of a swing motion originated from your side of the court.
2. You can NEVER cross underneath the net with your feet or racket. you may cross if the opponent is not distracted so that he cannot perform the shot.
3.You CANNOT lunge at a serve. You cannot move until the birdie is hit and at that time you may do anything.
4. You CANNOT clash your racket. As long as you both don't hit it its fine.
5. If you play (hit) a shot that was the result of a double it counts! No it doesn't.
6. If the bird hits the net during a serve, it is considered a "net" and a reserve occurs. This isnt ping pong~~
7. You may go to the bathroom/leave the court after each set. You cannot leave the court for the first two matches but you may bring water to drink in between sets. You may go to the bathroom after the second set.
I know there are more out there. I think that it is a main problem when people representing their schools don't know the rules themselves. We should alert at least the BF'er's about these concealed rules. All feedback is welcome and corrections as well. I may have been wrong in the above rules.
09-13-2005, 03:24 AM #2
ive heard numerous arguments about this one. i was pretty convinced i was right until my playmates came at me altogether. i always thought that for singles, the service line is the one all the way at the back? ie the shuttle is in when u serve and it lands between the 2 lines at the back? or am i wrong
09-13-2005, 03:31 AM #3Originally Posted by terror
09-13-2005, 03:49 AM #4Originally Posted by terror
There was a time however, when I was a kid, when I insisted that the doubles long service line was in fact the "out" line for singles. Managed to convince my cousins and we played many a good game in a truncated "singles" court .
09-13-2005, 05:00 AM #5Originally Posted by manduki
09-13-2005, 06:50 AM #6Originally Posted by other
09-13-2005, 04:33 PM #7Originally Posted by other
09-13-2005, 04:44 PM #8
Other Common Misconceptions
There are other "misunderstandings" such as in serving:
- both feet must be in contact with the floor. No foot lifting off the floor allowed. Often you see young girls lifting a foot by trying to get extra power on the serve.
- racquet moves in a single continuous motion. You cannot swing racquet forward, then back and then forward to contact the shuttle.
- racquet head must be lower than the lowest part of your hand when contacting the shuttle. If not, we can all serve tennis style.
09-13-2005, 04:50 PM #9
does your feet or bird have to stay in the box while serving?
09-13-2005, 04:54 PM #10Originally Posted by manduki
Your bird does not need to be inside. I am 6 ft tall so I usually lean forward to get closer to the net (less air time for the shuttle in air). However, the bird must be tight to the net or I will be eating the serve return.
09-14-2005, 08:39 AM #11Originally Posted by OTFK
09-14-2005, 08:54 AM #12Originally Posted by egibooga
There are two main rules about serving here - shuttle below waist, and racket head below hand. Read the laws!
09-14-2005, 08:57 AM #13Originally Posted by Gollum
dont u agree??
09-14-2005, 10:20 AM #14Originally Posted by egibooga
Gollum is right. I read from a previous post that serve judges are using a player's elbow height to determine the "waist level". Therefore, technically speaking, the shuttle has to be below the lowest part of your rib cage (on the side of the body).
I agree with Gollum know the law of badminton is the best option. When in competition, I was accused serving illegally. I gave them the rule book and said show me which law I broke and they could not. There is a saying in North America - know the rule so you can break it properly.
There are other things that a player can do to make the serve more diffcult for the oppenent to see. For example, the English player Natalie Munt waits till the last second to set the shuttle and then she serves with a second or two. That is really hard the opponent to jump the serve.
However, Ms Munt did not do that serve during the WC 2005. I wonder why.
Last edited by OTFK; 09-14-2005 at 10:31 AM.
09-14-2005, 11:39 AM #15Originally Posted by Gollum
09-14-2005, 03:50 PM #16Originally Posted by egibooga
With double hits, remember that a stroke must be a continuous motion. You can't hit the shuttle up in the air, and then smash it!
09-16-2005, 12:52 AM #17
when you serve you cant hit the net? is that what one of the post said?
By Loafers in forum Badminton StringReplies: 6: 11-20-2008, 10:51 PM
By XtC-604 in forum Racket Recommendation / ComparisonReplies: 19: 07-26-2008, 12:45 PM
By bighook in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 59: 12-24-2006, 12:15 AM
By taneepak in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 50: 03-07-2006, 11:19 AM
By bighook in forum General ForumReplies: 12: 11-08-2004, 02:39 PM