Racket broke need advice on a replacement

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Vigor, Oct 4, 2005.

1. Vigor

Vigor Regular Member

Hi

I'm hoping someone with more experience with racket buying and picking the right racket out can help me!
    I played with a Yonnex Swing Power Ti SS (I think that is the stiff model) for the last couple of years until the frame broke whilst playing this week (which was very annoying let me tell you!)

Anyway I am now trying to find a new racket as my backup racket is well rubbish I think....its not an ISO head and I prefer them. Plus the strings feel like a sponge!!!

I've been playing badminton for 8 years now and although I am not the strongest guy in the club I can whack up power when I need to, my best asset is probably the speed I move and general court coverage. As a result I usually reach drop shots quickly and need a racket that will allow me to return a drop or placement down the lines. Also need a racquet that will help with my smash and to place shots around the court with power and accuracy.

I know its probably difficult for people to advise without seeing me play but if anyone has any ideas I'd be very grateful - as I am stumped at the amount of rackets and options out there.

If its any help - I have had a few Yonex rackets and see them as tried and tested incase someone knows of a racket from them.

Thanks
    Matthew

2. manduki

manduki Regular Member

Student
    Hello Vigor! welcome to badminton Forum!

You seem to be a pretty advanced player so im guessing you'd want a high end Yonex. Since you go to a club, why don't you try a few of your buddies' rackets out? In particular, try the MP 99, AT 800 OF/DE, NS 7,8K and such. U've use the Ti SS so i think MP 99 would suit you most. Perhaps the NS 8k? give them a try!

3. Vigor

Vigor Regular Member

Hi Manduki