Results 1 to 17 of 22
Thread: racquets passing over the net
10-22-2005, 03:29 PM #1
racquets passing over the net
I was wondering if racquets can pass a bit over the net. Because sometimes my drives requires me to move my racquet realy fast and sometimes it goes a wee bit over the net ( not touching it of course )
10-22-2005, 04:41 PM #2Originally Posted by Intr3pid
10-22-2005, 07:59 PM #3
i do believe anytime if ur racquet pass over the net..it is fault
10-22-2005, 08:28 PM #4
uhh yeah thats what i thought, isnt it a fault? its called.. a reach?
10-22-2005, 08:31 PM #5Originally Posted by w3wmfhe
10-23-2005, 04:18 AM #6Originally Posted by smash_master
1) OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket crosses the net.
2) Not OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket hits the net.
Can this be said: any time during the point, if you touch the net, you lose that point.
10-23-2005, 11:25 PM #7Originally Posted by S4MadMan
2) correct and ... correct, dont touch net.
10-23-2005, 11:29 PM #8
ok so if contact with shuttle is made on my side but i hit it and my entire arm is on the other side, its legal?
10-24-2005, 01:43 AM #9Originally Posted by __Lam
only the racquet may pass over the net as part of your follow through
No part of you body is allowed to pass over the net
(under and around the net are different matters)
10-24-2005, 01:56 AM #10Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
10-24-2005, 02:16 AM #11
It is a 'fault':
13.4 if, in play, a player:
13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with the racket or person except as permitted in Law 13.3;
13.3 if, when in play, the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker's side of the net. (The striker may, however, follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke);
So yes, it is ok to physically reach over under certain conditions.
Edit: Forgot to address under and around the net.
13.4.3 invades an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted;
As for around the net, the poles are usually located well outside the court so that it makes it nearly impossible to reach around...
Last edited by OniMenoKyo; 10-24-2005 at 02:20 AM.
10-24-2005, 02:20 AM #12
Rule 13 Faults
Rule 13.4.3 Invade an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted.
Therefore, as long as the opponent is not obstructed or distracted, the player is entitled to pass under the net.
Originally Posted by S4MadMan
10-24-2005, 02:27 AM #13Originally Posted by scchang
10-24-2005, 03:26 AM #14Originally Posted by OniMenoKyo
it is most likely to be when a players has to run from the back of the court to the front very quickly and cannot stop before touching the net, so their whole body continues forward and goes around the post
I remember Ha Tae Kwon doing this in a match between KDM/HTK and Candra/Sigit. Candra playfully aimed a kick at Ha's backside as he was returning to his own side of the net
10-24-2005, 03:46 AM #15Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
10-24-2005, 05:17 PM #16Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
OMG when was this match i must add it to my collection !
10-24-2005, 08:23 PM #17
SucessOriginally Posted by Intr3pid
By jamesshieh88 in forum Chit-ChatReplies: 3: 01-28-2011, 04:43 PM
By marmoset in forum General ForumReplies: 13: 12-16-2009, 05:17 PM
By kmaster26 in forum General ForumReplies: 9: 11-21-2009, 06:56 AM
By Silver Bullet in forum Buy & SellReplies: 7: 03-10-2009, 07:59 PM
By oab729 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 01-23-2005, 10:34 AM