User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 22
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default racquets passing over the net

    hi

    I was wondering if racquets can pass a bit over the net. Because sometimes my drives requires me to move my racquet realy fast and sometimes it goes a wee bit over the net ( not touching it of course )

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    your closet
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Intr3pid
    hi

    I was wondering if racquets can pass a bit over the net. Because sometimes my drives requires me to move my racquet realy fast and sometimes it goes a wee bit over the net ( not touching it of course )
    Yes you can do this! As long as you hit the bird on your side of the net and the racket passes over the net as part the motion, there is no problem!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    san francisco ca
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i do believe anytime if ur racquet pass over the net..it is fault

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    uhh yeah thats what i thought, isnt it a fault? its called.. a reach?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by w3wmfhe
    i do believe anytime if ur racquet pass over the net..it is fault
    nope, tbone is corect, as long as you make contact on your side of the net then cross over its ok but if your racquet touches the net then its a fault or if you dont make contact on your side of the net its a fault.

  6. #6
    Regular Member DinkAlot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    dcbadminton.net
    Posts
    12,202
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smash_master
    nope, tbone is corect, as long as you make contact on your side of the net then cross over its ok but if your racquet touches the net then its a fault or if you dont make contact on your side of the net its a fault.
    So to clarify:

    1) OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket crosses the net.

    2) Not OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket hits the net.

    Can this be said: any time during the point, if you touch the net, you lose that point.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S4MadMan
    So to clarify:

    1) OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket crosses the net.

    2) Not OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket hits the net.

    Can this be said: any time during the point, if you touch the net, you lose that point.
    1) correct but dont try and pass it too much now lol
    2) correct and ... correct, dont touch net.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok so if contact with shuttle is made on my side but i hit it and my entire arm is on the other side, its legal?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by __Lam
    ok so if contact with shuttle is made on my side but i hit it and my entire arm is on the other side, its legal?
    No
    only the racquet may pass over the net as part of your follow through
    No part of you body is allowed to pass over the net
    (under and around the net are different matters)

  10. #10
    Regular Member DinkAlot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    dcbadminton.net
    Posts
    12,202
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    (under and around the net are different matters)
    What's the rulling about body parts passing under the net and around the net?

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    13. Faults
    It is a 'fault':

    13.4 if, in play, a player:
    13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with the racket or person except as permitted in Law 13.3;

    13.3 if, when in play, the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker's side of the net. (The striker may, however, follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke);

    So yes, it is ok to physically reach over under certain conditions.

    Edit: Forgot to address under and around the net.

    13.4.3 invades an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted;

    As for around the net, the poles are usually located well outside the court so that it makes it nearly impossible to reach around...
    Last edited by OniMenoKyo; 10-24-2005 at 02:20 AM.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Rule 13 Faults
    Rule 13.4.3 Invade an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted.

    Therefore, as long as the opponent is not obstructed or distracted, the player is entitled to pass under the net.

    -SC
    Quote Originally Posted by S4MadMan
    What's the rulling about body parts passing under the net and around the net?

  13. #13
    Regular Member DinkAlot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    dcbadminton.net
    Posts
    12,202
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scchang
    Rule 13 Faults
    Rule 13.4.3 Invade an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted.

    Therefore, as long as the opponent is not obstructed or distracted, the player is entitled to pass under the net.

    -SC
    OK, thanks.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OniMenoKyo
    As for around the net, the poles are usually located well outside the court so that it makes it nearly impossible to reach around...
    around the net rarely happens.
    it is most likely to be when a players has to run from the back of the court to the front very quickly and cannot stop before touching the net, so their whole body continues forward and goes around the post

    I remember Ha Tae Kwon doing this in a match between KDM/HTK and Candra/Sigit. Candra playfully aimed a kick at Ha's backside as he was returning to his own side of the net

  15. #15
    Regular Member DinkAlot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    dcbadminton.net
    Posts
    12,202
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    I remember Ha Tae Kwon doing this in a match between KDM/HTK and Candra/Sigit. Candra playfully aimed a kick at Ha's backside as he was returning to his own side of the net
    LOL! This must have been a sight to see!

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    I remember Ha Tae Kwon doing this in a match between KDM/HTK and Candra/Sigit. Candra playfully aimed a kick at Ha's backside as he was returning to his own side of the net

    OMG when was this match i must add it to my collection !

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    markham, canada
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Sucess

    Quote Originally Posted by Intr3pid
    hi

    I was wondering if racquets can pass a bit over the net. Because sometimes my drives requires me to move my racquet realy fast and sometimes it goes a wee bit over the net ( not touching it of course )
    I FOUND THE AMAZING THREAD WITH PICTURES!!!!1 *pats myself on my back* Check out this thread with amazing pictures by Gollum. Perfect answer to your question.

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...ight=plane+net

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Passing of Legendary UCLA Coach John Wooden
    By jamesshieh88 in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 3
    : 01-28-2011, 04:43 PM
  2. Annoyance - passing the shuttle
    By marmoset in forum General Forum
    Replies: 13
    : 12-16-2009, 05:17 PM
  3. Badminton Canada mourns the passing of Avish Makol
    By kmaster26 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 11-21-2009, 06:56 AM
  4. Passing on savings on Yonex racquets in Vancouver
    By Silver Bullet in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 7
    : 03-10-2009, 07:59 PM
  5. passing shots catching me off balance
    By oab729 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 01-23-2005, 10:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •