Next raquet??

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by Eternal_Monk, Oct 23, 2005.

1. Eternal_Monk

Eternal_Monk Regular Member

Student
    Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if you can help me pick my next raquet. Right now, i am using a Ti-3 and if i remember correctly, it isn't so great, and i've been using that raquet for a while now anyways. So, I was thinking an MP-77 or 88, another Ti or maybe a car, but don't know much about those yet. I guess i'm still an amateur (i'm not that great, but not that bad either). So, any suggestions??

Thanks

2. george333

george333 Regular Member

Associate Director
    next racket

I would tell you to go with a Carlton Airblade SUperlite or something Calrton along those lines. But I'm a Carlton freak. But there you go:p

3. Midget_Boy

Midget_Boy Regular Member

Student
    Car, heh, I first thought you meant an automobile, and thought, what would you need a car for in badminton? Then saw George333's response, and car = Carlton, hehe.

Anyways, MP-77 was discontinued in early 2004, so finding a new one should be pretty hard to find, and perhaps more expensive, unless you're also looking for a used one. MP-66 was released the same time MP-77 was discontinued, with similar features (Ultimum Titanium on Shaft), and MP-66 to MP-77, I consider it a replacement model. Just two significant differences, other than colour, MP-66 is headlight as opposed to Headheavy in MP-77. And MP-66 is flexible as opposed to a stiff MP-77.

Headlight = easier and faster control, faster shots, more comfort to the wrist.
    Headheavy = Slower, slightly harder to maneuver for defece/netshots, but much more power in swings.

Flexible = Easier to bring out racquets power.
    Stiff = Harder to bring out racquets power, requires more speed and strength in swings, but more power and stronger hits when flexed correctly. Most racquets follow this rule of thumb, except the really cheap ones, such as steel racquets for example.