Results 18 to 34 of 97
Thread: Pause in the serve
12-07-2005, 10:39 AM #18Originally Posted by david14700
All I can say is use the pause wisely and do not waste the "surprise".
12-07-2005, 11:10 AM #19
another fun way is moving your racket back very explosive, and then pause, and then serve(forward) the really anxious almost rol oevr when i move myr acket back that fast..
only use it for shits 'n giggles though. not sportsman-like to do it in competition, especially without real umps..
12-07-2005, 11:25 AM #20Originally Posted by jerby
12-07-2005, 07:25 PM #21Originally Posted by jerby
12-08-2005, 04:08 AM #22
Yes, if you stop a rapid backswing then there will inevitably be a rebound effect, with the racket moving forwards. That will make a fault.
A slow backswing followed by a pause is okay, because you will be able to control the racket to avoid accidental jerks forwards.
12-08-2005, 06:25 AM #23Originally Posted by Gollum
12-08-2005, 06:33 AM #24Originally Posted by jump_smash
Gollum meant that there will inevitably be a rebound of forward motion if you make the backswing explosive, thus the action will have begun, and if you stop from then, then it will be an illegal serve.
I would imagine that the quality of a low serve woul dbe redued when using an explosive backswing anyhow.
12-08-2005, 08:29 AM #25Originally Posted by jamesd20
12-08-2005, 11:18 AM #26
if you swing it back explosivly, jut swing it against your "belly" instead of doign a jerk to stop it...
12-08-2005, 11:31 AM #27Originally Posted by jerby
Not a good Idea IMHO
12-11-2005, 08:32 PM #28
Lets add something here:
My understanding is that it is ok to pause after a backswing.
if that is your style, you have to do it the same way all the time. If you elect to do a serve without pausing (hoping to catch an opponent off guard), then you will be faulted the next time you re-introduce a pause.
Thoughts / comments?
12-11-2005, 09:43 PM #29
a guy in my badmintonclub say
that you CANNOT have backswing movement on backhand serve in doubles game
he say that serve is just get your shuttle and racket in position
then just hit the shuttle forward and that it's the start of the serve
i've been following this thread and another thread on this matter and i think most ppl agree that there is no law against backswing. problem is, i can't argue with him because in the law itself (item 9.4), they never mention backswing at all. so what in the world can i do about this? anybody? i have no proof to give him that the backswing is legal
12-12-2005, 12:38 AM #30
You cannot base a conclusion based on a fallacy.
Not-A equals not-B is a fallacy.
Not-B equals not-A is okay.
No rules on backswing, so therefore no backswing allowed (Fallacy).
There are no backswings in badminton, so there are no backswing rules in badminton (TRUE).
12-12-2005, 01:58 AM #31Originally Posted by merlin
However, maybe the origin of his view is that you cannot hold the shuttle in place, bring the racquet to the shuttle and THEN have a backswing because the first forward movement of the shuttle is the start of the serve. Most players get their racquet in position and then place the shuttle in front of it as part of their preparatory action. Maybe he forgets this and holds his shuttle in place first.
Though, at club level, I know a lot of players do exactly that. I also know one that starts his backswing and waggles his racquet twice at the end of it EVERY serve. He just cannot help it and his opponents tolerate it because he cannot help it. He'd be faulted by a service judge though.
Last edited by CWB001; 12-12-2005 at 02:09 AM.
12-12-2005, 02:04 AM #32Originally Posted by wood_22_chuck
A backswing is allowed in the serve and it may be stopped dead with a pause before the forward movement of the racquet provided there is no bounce, or resumed backswing once the serve has started with a forward movement.
12-12-2005, 02:12 AM #33
so theres no regulations against how many variations of a forehand or backhand serve you can use?
i beleive a friend of mine had told me that you were allowed only one kind, and any major deviations from those would be considered faults.
12-12-2005, 02:42 AM #34Originally Posted by chickenpoodle
Why don't you just read the laws?
I'm always surprised by how many people believe any old fairytale without checking for themselves.
By - иεvvεи٭т -ツ in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 3: 12-20-2011, 10:43 PM
By JustinG in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 07-28-2010, 08:32 PM
By Pureskillz76 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 27: 05-01-2009, 10:46 AM
By pyaarawala in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 69: 01-15-2009, 12:09 AM
By Framerate in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 22: 02-26-2003, 03:28 AM