Results 52 to 68 of 97
Thread: Pause in the serve
12-12-2005, 06:55 PM #52Originally Posted by Pete LSD
"Anything is provable from a contradiction."
Obscure technical explanation
Given a formal language L1 that is expressively adequate and sound, and a sentence P equivalent to the sentence (A ^ ¬ A) in the language L of propositional calculus, it follows that P entails X for all sentences X in L1.
I think I've set that up right. Soundness might not be necessary, but I threw it in for good measure Besides, languages that are not sound are not of much interest.
(Erm....and maybe I should say "formula" instead of "sentence".)
For example, this is a valid argument:
Premise -- Grass is green and grass is not green.
Conclusion -- London is in France.
It's stupid, but completely valid.
Last edited by Gollum; 12-12-2005 at 07:06 PM.
12-12-2005, 08:03 PM #53Originally Posted by CWB001
Last edited by event; 12-12-2005 at 08:13 PM.
12-12-2005, 08:14 PM #54Originally Posted by event
12-12-2005, 08:18 PM #55Originally Posted by CWB001
12-13-2005, 02:38 AM #56
i have been following this thread for some time now but no one seems to mention about how long, within the rule, can we pause?
What if the server paused more than 5 secs?
12-13-2005, 03:30 AM #57Originally Posted by event
waist - the narrowing of the body between the ribs and hips
12-13-2005, 03:33 AM #58
Hmmmm, the serve below is borderline to me.
If I were a judge and the serve was causing the opponents problems, then I would call a fault. But if it's just an honest serve and there is no advantage/disadvantage, I would let it go. However, if the opponents mentioned something, I would enforce a fault.
12-13-2005, 08:24 AM #59
A fault was called on Lee Wan Wah during the finals of the China Masters '05, while he was doing one such serve. He walked over to the service judge shaking his fingers, meaning to say "no, no, no, Mr. Service Judge", and was promptly warned by the umpire.
Jens Eriksen has a very similar service stance, and I don't think I have ever seen a service fault called on him.
As for Lee Wan Wah, now that they have wear the tiger-stripped shirts, the service judges can just see whether the shuttle is struck above the top, or is it the second or the top, strip?
12-13-2005, 08:40 AM #60
that really is borderline....i'd call it fault if you'd ask me. the rackethandle isn't obviously pointing down.. and assumign his pants are tied on his hips his waist would be lower...
12-13-2005, 08:40 AM #61Originally Posted by cheongsa
12-13-2005, 09:26 AM #62Originally Posted by jerby
12-13-2005, 01:06 PM #63Originally Posted by Kamen
12-13-2005, 08:56 PM #64Originally Posted by CWB001
9.1.5: the whole shuttle shall be below the server's waist at the instant of being hit by the server's racket;
Assuming the server hits the shuttle from the above referenced picture, to me the shuttle is 2"-3" above his waist, therefore a fault. Again, I would not call a fault unless the server was getting a decided advantage or if the opponents complained.
12-14-2005, 04:47 AM #65Originally Posted by DinkAlot
You must ignore the net and look for proper clues as to position.
12-14-2005, 04:52 AM #66Originally Posted by CWB001
It's a subjective call.
12-14-2005, 04:56 AM #67Originally Posted by DinkAlot
12-14-2005, 05:00 AM #68Originally Posted by CWB001
By - иεvvεи٭т -ツ in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 3: 12-20-2011, 10:43 PM
By JustinG in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 07-28-2010, 08:32 PM
By Pureskillz76 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 27: 05-01-2009, 10:46 AM
By pyaarawala in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 69: 01-15-2009, 12:09 AM
By Framerate in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 22: 02-26-2003, 03:28 AM