Results 86 to 97 of 97
Thread: Pause in the serve
12-16-2005, 10:52 AM #86
Originally Posted by OTFK
12-16-2005, 02:28 PM #87
Originally Posted by DinkAlot
12-16-2005, 07:44 PM #88
Originally Posted by OTFK
05-12-2006, 10:23 PM #89
Originally Posted by j_e_thompson
9.1.7 the movement of the server’s racket must continue, without stopping, from the start of the service (Law 9.4) until the service is delivered
9.4 Once the players have taken their positions, the first movement of the server’s racket head shall be the start of the service.
The explanation(shown below) says that too many Korean players are being called for faults at international tournaments so they wanted to change the rules to discourage people from trying to trick their opponents. Who knows? Maybe the Samsung coach of whom I spoke earlier in this thread was extra sensitive to such things because of calls going against his players in tournaments. I have noticed LKW and LHJ getting called a lot but I always thought it was because of the racquet angle.
9.1.7 서비스(9.4항)를 시작한 뒤 서버의 라켓 움직임은, 서비스가 끝날 때까지 멈춤 없이 진행되어야 한다.9.4 양편 경기자가 각각의 포지션에 일단 도착하고, 서버 라켓 헤드 의 최초 움직임을 서비스의 시작이라고간주한다.
▶ 적용 기간 : 2006. 5. 11부터
▶ 배경 설명 :
서비스’를 행할 때 라켓 헤드가 앞으로 나가는 동작부터 서비스의 시 작으로 규정하지만, 이 현 경기규정(제9조 : 서비스 규칙)을 악용하여 서 비스를 행할 때 상대선수를 속이는 트릭 행위가 빈번히 발생하고, 국제대 회에서 심판으로부터 모호한 서비스 행동으로 간주되어 우리 선수가 불이 익을 받는 경우가 많아, 이러한 상황을 조기에 방지하고자 변경 시행함.
Last edited by event; 05-12-2006 at 10:30 PM.
05-13-2006, 12:35 AM #90
Apparently, according to the badminton England website, there is an experimental law change along these lines.
05-13-2006, 06:46 AM #91
can you give a link (or directions) please, I can't see it.
05-13-2006, 04:40 PM #92
05-13-2006, 11:04 PM #93
Originally Posted by CWB001
• on completion of the backward movement of the server’s racket head, any delay in the start of the service shall be regarded as a fault for undue delay.
I guess this didn't get passed?
05-17-2006, 06:57 AM #94
i guess within 2 seconds delay is ok...
i'm not a good player tho.. know what, a few times i've tried positioning myself with the backhand serve, and then suddenly switch to forehand serve when i'm going to hit the shuttlecok. so i bring back the forearm instead, to make a forehand serve while lowering the shuttlecock slightly. it should be legal right?
Last edited by sparks; 05-17-2006 at 07:00 AM.
05-17-2006, 08:34 AM #95
Originally Posted by sparks
These are just my opinions.
05-17-2006, 08:43 AM #96
from the backhand serve, with racket in front of the body, i bring the racket arm to the right side of the body for forehand serve, so the racket didn't move forward but sideways back.. so it doesn't violate the 'first forward movement' rule.. i hope i can do a flick serve with the backhand though.
05-17-2006, 09:08 AM #97
serve switch from backhand to forehand serve
I also serve like this some times. As I am in position for a backhand serve, I bring the racket BACk over to my right side, then forward for the serve so think that it is still legal. I see it has no more deceptive then a normal flick serve so doesn't breach the rules of a double swing, pause serve etc.
I see some people on backhand serve lift the racket up very high (above waist) at point of contact with shuttle - this is illegal! No use holding it below waist, then when hitting it you raise the racket grrrr
Can someone tell me please how long can you hold the serve up (as receiver) or as the server??
By - иεvvεи٭т -ツ in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 3: 12-20-2011, 09:43 PM
By JustinG in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 07-28-2010, 07:32 PM
By Pureskillz76 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 27: 05-01-2009, 09:46 AM
By pyaarawala in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 69: 01-14-2009, 11:09 PM
By Framerate in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 22: 02-26-2003, 02:28 AM