User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Rules: Stupid Question but.......

    I know this may seem stupid however I cannot find anywhere in the rules a clear definition of IN vs Out.
    I have searched the forum here and I believe that there is as much confusion amonsgt others.
    A discusion started in our club where some people believe that if any part of the shuttle strikes the line then it is in. Others believe that it has to be the head.

    Can anyone point to a clear rule on this please?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It doesn't matter what part touches first, but werever any part of it touches, that's your reference point. For example, if the shuttle somehow touches the line with its feathers before the head touches out, then it should be considered in.

    So the first part that touches the floor, basically.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Since the cork is heavier, the shuttle will always land cork first. Any part of the cork touches the line, it's IN.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Medicine Hat, AB, Canada
    Posts
    208
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, I often see the tip land first (since it is the heavier end of the shuttle - it will have a tendency to point downward first).
    I have not seen a feather part touches the ground before the tip (even on a tumbling net shot).

  5. #5
    Regular Member DinkAlot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    dcbadminton.net
    Posts
    12,280
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OTFK
    I have not seen a feather part touches the ground before the tip (even on a tumbling net shot).
    Of course not, that's the way a shuttle is designed, cork first.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,373
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by varadero
    I know this may seem stupid however I cannot find anywhere in the rules a clear definition of IN vs Out.
    I have searched the forum here and I believe that there is as much confusion amonsgt others.
    A discusion started in our club where some people believe that if any part of the shuttle strikes the line then it is in. Others believe that it has to be the head.

    Can anyone point to a clear rule on this please?
    I think the others has answered your question to a degree. Basically only the cork should touch the court first. Even if the feathers touches the line after the cork has landed (outside of the line), it is still out as the cork is the first point of contact

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is possible that feathers touch the court before the cork. I saw this sitting on the long line. It happens when you have a kill hit just above the net and shuttle is flying all the length of the court.

    The flight path is so tight that it is possible (and I saw this) that feathers touch the back line before the cork (which hits out).

    In such a case the shuttle is in.


    regards

    dzgdz

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Windsor Area...
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok weve figured out that the cork should always land first but the bird hits different angles and we all know that the whole cork never hits the ground. That the cork will usually land on an angle so do u take from the very tip or from the cork itself because if u take form very tip and u call it long the competition will complain every time

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    4,010
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's really very simple

    The first part of the shuttle to hit the ground is what matters.

    If any part of the shuttle's initial contact with the ground is on or within any part of a boundary line, then the shuttle is IN.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Guys,
    Thanks for all the replies.........

    I agree that we have reached a general consensus and it all makes perfect sense but it appears that it isn't clearly defined in the rules.
    The only way in the rules, as far as I can see, is that it is out when the line judge calls it out. Rule 17.4

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by varadero
    Guys,
    Thanks for all the replies.........

    I agree that we have reached a general consensus and it all makes perfect sense but it appears that it isn't clearly defined in the rules.
    The only way in the rules, as far as I can see, is that it is out when the line judge calls it out. Rule 17.4
    Hmm. You need to read the laws a bit more carefully. Everything is very clear there. They are definitive. How could a line judge call a shuttle out if the laws do not define what is out?

    Fortunately the line judge is aided in his thankless task by laws 1.3, 11.5 and 13.2.1 which say

    "1.3 All lines form part of the area which they define. "

    "11.5 Scoring and serving

    11.5.1 If the receiving side makes a ‘fault’ or the shuttle ceases to be in play because it touches the surface of the court inside the receiving side’s court, the serving side scores a point and the server serves again.

    11.5.2 If the serving side makes a ‘fault’ or the shuttle ceases to be in play because it touches the surface of the court inside the serving side’s court, the server loses the right to continue serving, with no point scored by either side. "

    and that a shot is a fault

    "if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 lands outside the boundaries of the court (ie not on or within the boundary lines); "

    Seems pretty clear to me.



  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CWB001
    Hmm. You need to read the laws a bit more carefully. Everything is very clear there. They are definitive. How could a line judge call a shuttle out if the laws do not define what is out?

    Fortunately the line judge is aided in his thankless task by laws 1.3, 11.5 and 13.2.1 which say..............
    Thanks for that - I think I have enough to successfully argue the case.

    I do think I could get some push back from people arguing over whether or not the feathers touched the ground before the cork but life is to short.

    thanks
    Varadero

Similar Threads

  1. stupid question
    By blindaim in forum Clothing & Footwear
    Replies: 17
    : 04-24-2010, 12:08 PM
  2. Stupid question
    By jafffa in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 3
    : 05-11-2009, 05:51 PM
  3. maybe a stupid question ...
    By Kevin in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 07-22-2002, 05:26 PM
  4. The dumbest (and most stupid) question ever?
    By Grumpy in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 2
    : 03-11-2002, 01:20 PM
  5. A stupid question ?
    By Michael in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 04-09-2001, 10:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •