User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Is this legal or not?

    Rule Gurus please help.

    Here is the situation. I was playing MD. I played a cross court drop shot. My opponent dove to the floor. His racket was almost flat on the ground except the handle which was in his hand. His racket hand was also touching the floor. He hit the shuttle (almost scooped it) and by some miracle came over to the other side of the net.

    Mu partner was so shocked that the shuttle came over that he could not tap a simple kill. So we argued back and forth and since i was not sure what the rule was I ended up conceding the point.

    So I guess the question is this legal ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,214
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, it's legal, if the no part of the shuttle hit the floor first.

    -dave

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If it was a clean hit from the strings or even off the frame then it's legal.
    These sorts of diving shots are my trademark

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    3,962
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Q on the scoop.

    when is a hit considered a scoop?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jerby
    Q on the scoop.

    when is a hit considered a scoop?
    when shuttle wasnt bounce off the racket and the racket wasnt swung in one continuous motion.

    that dig shot example u gave sounds legit to me

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cooler
    when shuttle wasnt bounce off the racket and the racket wasnt swung in one continuous motion.

    that dig shot example u gave sounds legit to me

    Cooler,

    Even if the motion of the racket is not continuous (like you mention in the definition of a scoop), is it still legal?

    I don't remember all the details of what happened but it looked like, my opponent dove to the floor, somehow managed to stretch his hand and racket to get to the shuttle while lying flat on the floor with his hand and racket stretched. Then he made a jerky (not one continuous swing) motion of the racket and the shuttle ended up over the net.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,214
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ha-ha. Let me give you the answer you're looking for:

    You're right, it's illegal. There, you happy now?

    However, if you're basing it on the official rulebooks, it's remains legal.

    -dave

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wood_22_chuck
    Ha-ha. Let me give you the answer you're looking for:

    You're right, it's illegal. There, you happy now?

    However, if you're basing it on the official rulebooks, it's remains legal.

    -dave
    Dave:

    I am not looking for a validation that I am correct. As I said, I conceded the point and at this point it is academic whether we won the point or not. I just wanted to understand the rule.

    The reason for my second post was the point that cooler had brought up about "continuous racket motion" and I had left out that detail from my first post.

    I accept that it was a valid shot and we lost that point. Peace??

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,214
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Peace

    -dave

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,638
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think most of people know an illegal scoop/carry when they see one. My personal feeling on this is as long as it is not an intensional sccop/carry, it is a legal shot. Here is the rule stating a fault.

    15.8 If, in play, the shuttle:

    15.8.1 Be caught and held on the racket and slung during the execution of a stroke;

    Merry Christmas to Cooler (or colder in Calgory) and everyone.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    2,379
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pwakankar
    Cooler,

    Even if the motion of the racket is not continuous (like you mention in the definition of a scoop), is it still legal?

    I don't remember all the details of what happened but it looked like, my opponent dove to the floor, somehow managed to stretch his hand and racket to get to the shuttle while lying flat on the floor with his hand and racket stretched. Then he made a jerky (not one continuous swing) motion of the racket and the shuttle ended up over the net.

    Thanks.
    Just further to what silentheart pointed out, the only way I can imagine the shot you describe being illegal would be if he had dived, the shuttle had hit his strings and somehow bounced or otherwise stayed on the racquet and then your opponent lifted the racquet to sling it over the net. Even if it weren't intentional if he stabbed at the shuttle and made contact with it before it hit the ground and then lifted his racquet in a separate motion that also altered the direction of the shuttle, then it would have violated the rule that silentheart quoted.

Similar Threads

  1. legal or not
    By fifteen luv in forum General Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 04-10-2007, 01:06 AM
  2. Is This Legal?
    By magiadam in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 01-28-2006, 09:26 AM
  3. is this legal?
    By checkthemc in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 2
    : 04-17-2005, 01:31 AM
  4. Is this legal???
    By LazyBuddy in forum General Forum
    Replies: 16
    : 03-10-2003, 02:10 PM
  5. Is this legal?
    By LazyBuddy in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    : 01-10-2003, 01:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •