User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    649
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default What happens if.......

    What happens if i hit a shot to my opponent and they throw their racquet at the bird and it hits it over for a winner?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    439
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    Throw their racket? umm... okay

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    That happened to me before... actually.. they didn't really throw it far but I think it slipped out of their hand... it went over though... it was close to the net and it hit the rim of the racquet and the shuttle bounced over. It was during practice though and not real games so didn't really worry about it

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    I'm pretty sure that this is not allowed in tennis, but I could find no Badminton Law that covered this situation. However, if you opponent's racket invades your space it MIGHT be a fault in accordance with Rule 13.4.2

    see http://www.intbadfed.org/laws.html#13.3

    does anyone know if this situation is coverd in the Laws?

  5. #5
    Hank
    Guest

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    Hmmm... that's an interesting questions. I wouldn't be surprised not to see it being mentioned in the rules since I don't think anyone would use throwing their racquet as a winning stradegy. If they happen to win the point, I doubt that they'll win another one doing the same, so there'd be no point mentioning it in the rules, but I could be wrong.

  6. #6
    NWO Badminton
    Guest

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    I believe the racket has to be in contact with the body of the person who let it go in order for the shot to count.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,539
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    provided the racquet does not break the plane of the net, it is acceptable. if the racquet breaks the plane, invades the court space of your opponent, it is then a fault.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    649
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    hmm... interesting.... i should e-mail the IBF and ask.... even though it has never happened to me, it would suck to lose that way in a competition right? =)

  9. #9
    Tony
    Guest

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    I think it is a win as long as the racquet doesn't invade opponent's air space or touching the net. Some player does it on purpose to try their luck but I never see any success.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Not true!

    Tony, badrad, or NWO-

    can you cite the rule that applies to this situation? I believe that your racket is allowed to invade the opponents space as long as it doens't interfere with their response. check out Law 13.3 on the IBF site.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Not true!

    Law 13.4.2 states that it's a fault if your racquet or person invades the opponent's space except in cases cited by Law 13.3.3 which basically allow invasion of opponent's space by a racquet on a normal follow-through of a stroke.

    As for throwing the racquet, apparently it is acceptable as long the racquet does not cross over the net. The laws did not indicate anywhere that throwing a racquet is a fault.

  12. #12
    bay residence!
    Guest

    Default Re: What happens if.......

    It's a 3-pointer, don't you think? it requires a lot of "LUCK" to do that!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •