That happened to me before... actually.. they didn't really throw it far but I think it slipped out of their hand... it went over though... it was close to the net and it hit the rim of the racquet and the shuttle bounced over. It was during practice though and not real games so didn't really worry about it
I'm pretty sure that this is not allowed in tennis, but I could find no Badminton Law that covered this situation. However, if you opponent's racket invades your space it MIGHT be a fault in accordance with Rule 13.4.2
does anyone know if this situation is coverd in the Laws?
Hmmm... that's an interesting questions. I wouldn't be surprised not to see it being mentioned in the rules since I don't think anyone would use throwing their racquet as a winning stradegy. If they happen to win the point, I doubt that they'll win another one doing the same, so there'd be no point mentioning it in the rules, but I could be wrong.
can you cite the rule that applies to this situation? I believe that your racket is allowed to invade the opponents space as long as it doens't interfere with their response. check out Law 13.3 on the IBF site.
Law 13.4.2 states that it's a fault if your racquet or person invades the opponent's space except in cases cited by Law 13.3.3 which basically allow invasion of opponent's space by a racquet on a normal follow-through of a stroke.
As for throwing the racquet, apparently it is acceptable as long the racquet does not cross over the net. The laws did not indicate anywhere that throwing a racquet is a fault.