User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 27
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Rules when a shuttle is stuck in the net

    Can anyone clarify the ruling when a shuttle is hit by a player and...
    1) the shuttle gets trapped in the net on the same side of the player who played the original stroke.
    2) the shuttles hits the top of the net cord rolls over to the opponents side but gets trapped in the net on the opponents side as it rolls down the net on the opponents side.
    3) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the opponents side but some of the feathers are on the player's side.
    4) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the player's side but some of the feathers are on the opponents side.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    surrey, england
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by sslam72
    Can anyone clarify the ruling when a shuttle is hit by a player and...
    1) the shuttle gets trapped in the net on the same side of the player who played the original stroke.
    2) the shuttles hits the top of the net cord rolls over to the opponents side but gets trapped in the net on the opponents side as it rolls down the net on the opponents side.
    3) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the opponents side but some of the feathers are on the player's side.
    4) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the player's side but some of the feathers are on the opponents side.
    all i know is if a player hits the shuttle and it goes over the net but is stuck on the tape, so it's on the over side of the net but stuck then that is a let. if you hit it and it gets stuck your side of the net then it is a fault.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    # 1 would be a fault
    #'s 2,3 & 4 would be lets from what i know, cause you never got the chance to hit the shuttle but your opponent never really commited a fault or won the point either. I could always be wrong...i would actually like to know if im right or wrong and if somebody could correct me if i am.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for your replies so far.

    I thought the same as you guys but there's a chap at my club who believes that it was 2,3 and 4 was counted as an advantage to the stroke player.

    Will wait to see what else comes out of it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've also witnessed another incident where the opponent played a drop shot which failed to go over the net. Instead it hit the net and began to fall downwards.

    However, my partner lunged at the net and in doing so, he struck the net a split second before the shuttle reached the ground.

    In this situation I thought that the shuttle was already dead as it was on its way downwards and could not have gone over the net...but the opposition called a fault as they felt that a fault had to be called as the shuttle hadn't hit the ground.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sslam72
    In this situation I thought that the shuttle was already dead as it was on its way downwards and could not have gone over the net...but the opposition called a fault as they felt that a fault had to be called as the shuttle hadn't hit the ground.
    17. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:
    17.2 It strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    surrey, england
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by badrad
    17. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:
    17.2 It strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;
    so the the oppenents got it wrong

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think I'll have to get a copy of the rules and highlight it in preparation for the return leg of the match!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    and get your partner to work on checking his lunge and stroke. it could be possible if the shuttle was on your side, he could have faulted by touching the net after he makes his shot anyways, negating any spectacular shotmaking.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Where can these badminton rules be found?

  11. #11
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,911
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Greenman
    Where can these badminton rules be found?
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/badm...egory/3/77/56/

    very good reading.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    surrey, england
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Greenman
    Where can these badminton rules be found?
    i'm pretty sure they can be found on badmintonengland.co.uk

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lindanfan
    all i know is if a player hits the shuttle and it goes over the net but is stuck on the tape, so it's on the over side of the net but stuck then that is a let. if you hit it and it gets stuck your side of the net then it is a fault.
    this is all true, but only if not during the serve

    when such a situation occurs during the serve then you have fault (the shuttle wouldn't be able to reach service line on the other side)

    regards

    dzgdz

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sslam72
    Can anyone clarify the ruling when a shuttle is hit by a player and...
    1) the shuttle gets trapped in the net on the same side of the player who played the original stroke.
    2) the shuttles hits the top of the net cord rolls over to the opponents side but gets trapped in the net on the opponents side as it rolls down the net on the opponents side.
    3) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the opponents side but some of the feathers are on the player's side.
    4) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the player's side but some of the feathers are on the opponents side.
    1. Fault.
    2. Let.
    3. Let.

    Except on service, where all three are faults...

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    surrey, england
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Dzgdz
    this is all true, but only if not during the serve

    when such a situation occurs during the serve then you have fault (the shuttle wouldn't be able to reach service line on the other side)

    regards

    dzgdz
    what would happen if the shuttle gets stuck on the net from service,(on your oppenents side) and your oppenent touches the net whilst the shuttle is stuck?

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lindanfan
    what would happen if the shuttle gets stuck on the net from service,(on your oppenents side) and your oppenent touches the net whilst the shuttle is stuck?
    The serve passes to the receiver - it is a service fault.

  17. #17
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,660
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lindanfan
    what would happen if the shuttle gets stuck on the net from service,(on your oppenents side) and your oppenent touches the net whilst the shuttle is stuck?
    It depends on which event comes first.

    Once the shuttle touched and got stuck on the net, it is a fault on the server and the shuttle is no longer in play.

    But if before the bird touches the net, the opponent touched it first, then fault on the opponent.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Scenarios I'm always stuck in!
    By minijumbuk in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 07-27-2008, 05:38 PM
  2. The Magical Moment: Shuttle stuck on white tape.
    By Sgbad in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 06-16-2008, 01:32 AM
  3. Shuttle stuck at net on the other side of net.
    By scann in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 21
    : 01-17-2008, 02:08 PM
  4. Bird stuck at net
    By Rene Kuil in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 03-28-2005, 02:02 PM
  5. Quick rules question - fault if a shuttle skims the hair?
    By BoboTheBadder in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 01-17-2005, 09:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •