Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread: question on rules
02-22-2006, 04:22 AM #1
question on rules
hi i was just wondering in my club the other night an old guy said that in the rule book it does not state that the lady must start in the right hand side of the court in mixed doubles
Can this be true?
I could not see it myself in the rules I down loaded,
surely it is not just a custom which has been handed down over the years?
is it ?
02-22-2006, 05:55 AM #2
i dont really know that much about the rules, but i have always thought that the weaker one of the pair starts at the right hand side.
02-22-2006, 06:56 AM #3
The rules don't specify who receives first. Starting with the lady (in mixed) or the weaker player seems to be a custom.
If you have a strong lady and a weaker man you could always swap them around. Really confuses the opponents. Oh, and the scorer too...
02-22-2006, 12:09 PM #4
either player can start in the even court.
Also, at the start of each game, you can decide to swap over if you wish.
In both level doubles and mixed doubles.
02-22-2006, 04:11 PM #5
The rules don't say that the lady should start first on the right side. Also don't say that the weaker should start first on the right side.
So, it doesn't matter who start first on the right side.
I play this kind of position (men starts first on the right side) for a couple of matches. I just wanted to shock the lady (who always starts on the right side) and try to get point
There was complains over this position, because many players do/did not know about the rules.
02-25-2006, 07:35 PM #6
Originally Posted by sala_ryan
In mixed, the men usually stay at the back and hence starting on the left using put them in the back as long as his partner does not lift the shuttle.
02-25-2006, 10:17 PM #7
probably cuz its mixed so ladies should serve first.
02-27-2006, 10:41 AM #8
Originally Posted by hyun007
in mix double so he dosen't need to move around rite from the start if he start on the left side, it simply makes more sense if the man start on the left at the back. Its not part of the rules atall, so u can swap as u see fit.
By kohch99 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 14: 01-13-2008, 01:32 PM
By varadero in forum General ForumReplies: 11: 12-19-2005, 09:28 AM
By david14700 in forum General ForumReplies: 8: 09-13-2005, 02:28 AM
By graphite in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 6: 12-13-2004, 01:45 AM
By eggroll in forum Badminton Rackets / EquipmentReplies: 5: 11-19-2004, 11:38 PM