Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread: Serving in double new rules
03-13-2006, 07:43 AM #1
Serving in double new rules
In the new rule you only get one serve in doubles. I cant find out how you decide who is serving, where you serve from and who do you serve too. Thanks
03-13-2006, 07:52 AM #2
Well from watching Grandstand the other week, I kind of get the feeling its like the following:
1'st serve = normal right-hand court to opposing right-hand.
If point/serve is lost(0-1), service goes to opponents 1'st serve (RH court) = 1-0.
If they lose the serve/point (1-1), the service returns to what would have been the second server (under old style).
Hope this is right and clear.
03-13-2006, 07:55 AM #3
Does you take it in turns to serve and do you have to serve to the opponent that didnt serve
03-13-2006, 10:22 AM #4
No. It will always be the right-hand court that serves first and then if you score a point you can then move to the left hand court with the same-server. Now, it may seem confusing at first, but you see, because of the rally-point and the fact that each team will gain a point on a rally, this accounts for that strange transition between servers.
03-13-2006, 01:58 PM #5
Originally Posted by Trance
03-13-2006, 02:55 PM #6
Originally Posted by lindanfan
03-13-2006, 03:01 PM #7
thank for your help.
03-13-2006, 04:01 PM #8
Originally Posted by fast3r
03-17-2006, 11:52 PM #9
In doubles under the new system there is no such rule requiring you to serve from the RH. Only the old system requires that. Which half you serve from is exactly like in singles, i.e. you serve from the RH if your side's score is an even number, and from LH if odd. The same rule applies to singles under the new system. Therefore, the new system has one rule on where you serve from, whether it is singles, doubles, or mixed doubles. Not so the old system, which actually has a non-standard system of serving for doubles and mixed doubles.
03-18-2006, 02:45 PM #10
Wait... Would that mean that both players in doubles would keep the same position (i.e. player 1 on RH and player 2 on LH) throughout the game? (for service, I mean)
03-19-2006, 12:55 PM #11
Originally Posted by PhoenixMateria
03-19-2006, 01:43 PM #12
i can't really see how difficult it is to understand the new rules (not that i agree with them..)
the rules are simple. and there also some easy things to help remember.
1. you only have one serve.
2. you score a point when you win the rally
3. if your score is even the person in the rh court serves, if your score is odd the person in the lh court serves
4. you only swap sides when your side is serving
okay. By some way of some clever deduction it turns out that players on the same side take turns serving (since when you lose serve the next time you get the serve you win a point and hence the person in the other court gets to serve)
So as long as you remember who served last time and what the score is you can figure out where the players on your side should be standing.
recievers however aren't so simple - but since you aren't changing sides unless you score it shouldn't be too difficult to remember.
03-20-2006, 04:06 AM #13
Hope this attachment helps......
Last edited by serviceover; 03-20-2006 at 04:11 AM.
By S.fusion in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 6: 11-16-2011, 02:28 AM
By CkcJsm in forum General ForumReplies: 24: 06-22-2006, 08:10 AM
By Moses in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 5: 06-26-2005, 08:17 PM
By Bob Kishi in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 6: 12-11-2000, 04:47 PM
By Dr. J.David in forum General ForumReplies: 2: 05-22-2000, 01:17 AM