User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Serving in double new rules

    In the new rule you only get one serve in doubles. I cant find out how you decide who is serving, where you serve from and who do you serve too. Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Coventry, UK
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi woodhead,

    Well from watching Grandstand the other week, I kind of get the feeling its like the following:

    1'st serve = normal right-hand court to opposing right-hand.

    If point/serve is lost(0-1), service goes to opponents 1'st serve (RH court) = 1-0.

    If they lose the serve/point (1-1), the service returns to what would have been the second server (under old style).

    Hope this is right and clear.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does you take it in turns to serve and do you have to serve to the opponent that didnt serve

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    645
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No. It will always be the right-hand court that serves first and then if you score a point you can then move to the left hand court with the same-server. Now, it may seem confusing at first, but you see, because of the rally-point and the fact that each team will gain a point on a rally, this accounts for that strange transition between servers.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    surrey, england
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Trance
    No. It will always be the right-hand court that serves first and then if you score a point you can then move to the left hand court with the same-server. Now, it may seem confusing at first, but you see, because of the rally-point and the fact that each team will gain a point on a rally, this accounts for that strange transition between servers.
    i understand, it's like when you play a conditioned doubles game where one pair only gets one serve. they would always start serving from the right hand court

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lindanfan
    they would always start serving from the right hand court
    It depends on how many points you have when you gain the serve, if you have an even number the right hand player serves and if you have an odd number the left hand player serves.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thank for your help.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    surrey, england
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by fast3r
    It depends on how many points you have when you gain the serve, if you have an even number the right hand player serves and if you have an odd number the left hand player serves.
    i was just saying that i understood what Trance said. i didn't actually know that was the ruling... so which one is correct?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In doubles under the new system there is no such rule requiring you to serve from the RH. Only the old system requires that. Which half you serve from is exactly like in singles, i.e. you serve from the RH if your side's score is an even number, and from LH if odd. The same rule applies to singles under the new system. Therefore, the new system has one rule on where you serve from, whether it is singles, doubles, or mixed doubles. Not so the old system, which actually has a non-standard system of serving for doubles and mixed doubles.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wait... Would that mean that both players in doubles would keep the same position (i.e. player 1 on RH and player 2 on LH) throughout the game? (for service, I mean)

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoenixMateria
    Wait... Would that mean that both players in doubles would keep the same position (i.e. player 1 on RH and player 2 on LH) throughout the game? (for service, I mean)
    No, they rotate as normal when they win a point. If they stayed in the same place they would serve to the same person every time.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lymm, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i can't really see how difficult it is to understand the new rules (not that i agree with them..)

    the rules are simple. and there also some easy things to help remember.

    okay
    1. you only have one serve.
    2. you score a point when you win the rally
    3. if your score is even the person in the rh court serves, if your score is odd the person in the lh court serves
    4. you only swap sides when your side is serving

    okay. By some way of some clever deduction it turns out that players on the same side take turns serving (since when you lose serve the next time you get the serve you win a point and hence the person in the other court gets to serve)

    So as long as you remember who served last time and what the score is you can figure out where the players on your side should be standing.

    recievers however aren't so simple - but since you aren't changing sides unless you score it shouldn't be too difficult to remember.

    Coops

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hope this attachment helps......
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by serviceover; 03-20-2006 at 04:11 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Forehand serving rules
    By S.fusion in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 11-16-2011, 02:28 AM
  2. Serving-New Rules
    By CkcJsm in forum General Forum
    Replies: 24
    : 06-22-2006, 08:10 AM
  3. Help with serving rules.
    By Moses in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 06-26-2005, 08:17 PM
  4. Rules on serving
    By Bob Kishi in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 12-11-2000, 04:47 PM
  5. Rules during serving
    By Dr. J.David in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 05-22-2000, 01:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •