User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Badminton Rules: What is out of bounds?

    Hi, I'm doing a project on "What is considered out of bounds" in badminton. I know if the birdy lands outside of the lines or touches the ceiling it is out, but what else is considered out of bounds?

    Thanks!
    josh

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I guess hitting into / under the net could be considered out, or if it lands on your own side of the net (if you're hitting it)

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    456
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think those are the only reasons. Lol.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    also if it hits you on the body the rally is over

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    52
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default other instances

    On the service if it is before the service line or beyond the first line (double) or if you miss the shuttle. Also a double touch (hitting twice but not in the same sequence). In double if you're partner touches the shuttle before you do (when it's coming from the opponent) or you're partner touching it after you hit it and it's going to the opponent side. hitting the shuttle while it's still on the opponent side.

    if I come up whit more I'll let you know

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In your mind
    Posts
    809
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Normand
    On the service if it is before the service line or beyond the first line (double) or if you miss the shuttle. Also a double touch (hitting twice but not in the same sequence). In double if you're partner touches the shuttle before you do (when it's coming from the opponent) or you're partner touching it after you hit it and it's going to the opponent side. hitting the shuttle while it's still on the opponent side.

    if I come up whit more I'll let you know
    Well, no, if you "completely" miss the shuttle during your serve, then it's a redo. But if you touch it and it either doesn't go over the service line on the opponent's side, goes into the back alley(into the side alley in singles), beyond the service box, or hits the net, then it's an out.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsumaranai
    Well, no, if you "completely" miss the shuttle during your serve, then it's a redo.
    This is completely wrong.

    The relevant law says:

    "9.3 It is a ‘fault’ if the server, in attempting to serve, misses the shuttle."

    All you have to do is read the laws which can be found on this site.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In your mind
    Posts
    809
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok, well, sorry, then. Man.., if we're not playing by the rules, then what are we playing... I've been going by my Highschool [District] League rules, so..., don't mind me anymore...

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsumaranai
    Ok, well, sorry, then. Man.., if we're not playing by the rules, then what are we playing... I've been going by my Highschool [District] League rules, so..., don't mind me anymore...
    Then you are not playing badminton. There is only one set of laws for badminton. Perhaps some dodgy interpretations have grown up in your neck of the woods.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In your mind
    Posts
    809
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm guessing the rules are modified for Highschool, and that we're still using the old scoring system, so you can't yell at us for that. ^_^

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsumaranai
    I'm guessing the rules are modified for Highschool, and that we're still using the old scoring system, so you can't yell at us for that. ^_^
    The "old" scoring laws are still the official ones. The experimental ones are only for certain international events until they are officially adopted.

    I don't see why a high school would need to change the serving laws. It would mean that players would not fit into competitive badminton elsewhere very well.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsumaranai
    I'm guessing the rules are modified for Highschool, and that we're still using the old scoring system, so you can't yell at us for that. ^_^
    What other "modified" rules do you have? Can you serve above your head? If so, your playing tennis not badminton

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    In your mind
    Posts
    809
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No......, as far as I know, we don't let the shuttles bounce.(sarcasm, if you didn't happen to catch it) -.-

Similar Threads

  1. Badminton Rules
    By andymoore in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 21
    : 08-04-2008, 06:08 AM
  2. Badminton Rules
    By Wonger8 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 17
    : 10-06-2006, 07:45 AM
  3. Badminton rules
    By Taijis in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 03-27-2006, 01:50 PM
  4. Rules for badminton.......
    By simonf90 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 11-29-2003, 07:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •