poor overhead clears help pls......

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by green_seeds, Apr 22, 2006.

1. green_seeds

green_seeds Regular Member

hi ppl,

i got this long time problem with overhead clears i cannot seem to clear my shots back to my oppenent's baseline from my own baseline.:confused: ...and this allows them to hav time to do anything with that shot either a smash or a dropshot...then its when i found out that when doing a overhead clear yr body weight has to be on yr racket foot so as to generate to power isnt ? apparently i found out that i hav been putting my weight on my right foot instead of my left foot (racket foot) thus genrating insufficent power ? or is it due to the weight to my racket 2u? i find it slightly heavy muscle power 22...i strung it using bg 65 at lbs 23

pls help thanks alot guys and have a nice day :)

2. green_seeds

green_seeds Regular Member

ohh ya forget to add that i am a beginner to intemdiate player i think...and ard 1.73m

3. BadGone

BadGone Regular Member

Hi there,

You could try a more flexible raquet (MP66) with a long shaft.
    Then again, it's the technique of the clears which matters most : body rotation, elbow high, pronation of arm, moving into the bird....

Think you'll find much info on this in you search the forum

Cheers

4. setaa

setaa Regular Member

yap, i fixed all my broken technique last thursday and boy did i clear :D
    all i had to do was do: elbow up, 90 degree or so, full swing, pronate all the way == effortless bang to the baseline
    make sure ur technique is ok

5. azn_123

azn_123 Regular Member

Student
    I play with a yonex nanospeed 9000 with bg 65 strung at 23lb---should be ok to clear to the oppenents baseline. Just get a friend to work on your clears or/and work out more for more power in the clear shot. btw i don't like this string lol too low of a tension and loses tension fast.

6. DivingBirdie

DivingBirdie Regular Member

student