Weird Problem

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by smarty333, Apr 26, 2006.

1. smarty333

smarty333 Regular Member

I can't seem to be able to hit overhead shots, including smashes. I used to be able to with no problems. This problem started on April 5th (yes I remembered the exact date). Now I can't even hit them; I keep missing. People tell me I keep missing the birdie by like an inch from the side of the racquet. And I am not a beginner, I used to be in a club and took lessons every week.

I can't hit it whether I'm swinging slowly or hard. I can't even hit it when I'm standing still. Sometimes I swing too early, sometimes too late. There is nothing wrong with my eyes, grip, positioning or whatever. I don't even know why this problem suddenly started. The day before I could hit normally.

I get people to keep serving high to me to practice, but I still miss it.

It's VERY frustrating when I see everyone able to hit overhead except for me especially when I know I could do it but somehow can't :( I ask people for help, but their advice isn't helping.

I don't know what to do. :( :confused:

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

Technique does not change overnight.

It sounds like a temporary patch of bad play has become entrenched by your frustration and your anxiety that it might continue.

Relax. It will come back; unless you have suffered a physical or mental injury in April, there's no chance that your technique has disappeared. Probably you are just worrying about it too much -- that will upset your timing.

Don't try to hit the shuttle too hard. Don't even worry about clearing a full length. Slow down your swing and relax.

It will come back.

3. LongReach

LongReach Regular Member

Electronics Tech, Badminton Junkie!
    This is a strange one:confused:

Sorry to ask but have you had any history of spinal injury in you life?

Because something like this happen to me.