User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 35
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Who is at fault?

    I was involved in a racquet clash today, and both me and the other party insist that it's the other person's fault, so I'm going to try and get some second opinions and see where it goes. In the interests of fairness I'm NOT going to say which party I am.

    A and B are playing doubles, A is on the backhand (left) side, B is on the forehand (right) side. A receives the first shot, and goes to the forward right of the court. The return is to midcourt, down the middle. B goes for the shot which is B's forehand, A moves back and goes for the same shot with his backhand. A gets there first, hits, and simultaneously B clashes his racquet with A. B's racquet is broken.

    B says it's A's fault, as it was B's forehand, and B was already standing there waiting for it. A says it's B's fault, as B was the one who hit A's racquet which was there first.

    What would you say? A's fault? B's fault? Or 50/50? Should A pay for B's racquet, or should A tell B to go to hell?

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SG and MY
    Posts
    669
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    looks like A fault.
    but your story isnt too clear, after A receives the shot he went over to the front of B's court?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    More detailed sequence of events:

    A and B start side by side

    A receives a short serve, goes to forward right corner of court, lifts to back of opponent's court.

    His shot is then returned weakly to midcourt, high, down the middle.

    B hasn't moved since service, then winds up for a smash.

    A then moves back towards his starting point from where he received the shot (A did not move between receiving the service and his shot being returned) and tries for a backhand.

    A gets the backhand in first, B's racquet comes thundering down straight into A's still outstretched backhand.

    The clash occured in the centre of the court.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SG and MY
    Posts
    669
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is highly debatable, I'm not too good in playing. But I think A should cover the front incase the return is a netdrop, and as A is nearer to net he has better chances of bringing it down faster than B.
    I still think the shuttle should have been hit by B.
    But again, when playing in doubles, both the players should roughly know where your partner is at all times. So in this case, B shud have seen that A has gone to receive the shuttle and thus stop the smash, avoiding the clash.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lymm, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it's till pretty unclear to me what happened..

    so A is recieiving a short serve on the Left Hand side. i assume B is stood somewhere behind him - central.

    what is A's return of serve? - if it is a lift A&B should've gone defensive, so that one is on one side and one is on the other. i would suggest that A move to be cross court from the place where he has put the shuttle in order to create the necessary time-distance to return a smash.

    however now - at this point you opponent has played some weird (specially if A has lifted the service return) mid court weak lift. some points to note - i doubt this was expectde - and if A&B are moving into defensive positions there could be some confusion.

    Assuming A & B are right handed - and have moved towards a defensive position with A on the left and B on the right that would dictate that A's forehand is in the middle and as such he is in the best position to smash.

    however - i notice somebody mentions A taking the 'clashed' shot on his backhand.

    something is very mixed up here - the description of the rally needs to be made clearer

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    well, it's hard to say whose fault it was. if you two have been partnering each other for some time, you could refer to how you pre-discussed and pre-agreed in scenarios like this.

    if you two never partnered before, i'd say it's 50-50:

    in terms of giving the opponents the most killing shot, B might be at a better possition? if it was meant to be a smash or fast drive.

    in terms of protecting your partner's racket (also your own), A could have been less aggressive; B, behind A, had a better view therefore more responsibility.

    if the front guy were Tony Gunawan, most likely he'd go for the shot though.

    anyway, perfect excuse for B to get his next dream racket. he should be happy and thankful to A.
    Last edited by franxon; 05-11-2006 at 08:54 AM.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I dont really think it makes any difference, floor strike, raquet clash, its inevitable that its going to happen. Sometimes A could go for the shot, other times B could play the shot, depends on posistioning and who's covering.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Sudbury, ON
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'd say it doesn't matter as well

    it's part of the game and should be expected...

    If I clash racquets and my racquet breaks then "oh well" guess I have to buy a new one

    **it happens

    In a competitive game, there's no telling what may happen. I can have a steady partner for 30 years and still clash racquets

    People break sticks all the time in hockey...do you see them asking the other person to pay for it? nope...unfortunately, it's part of the game

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't think i would tell anyone to go to hell if they asked to pay for my racket. I would just laugh and say "nope"
    Exactly as txyu said, oh well. Stuff breaks. Suck it up. Don't be a whiner. Pay for your own gear.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,543
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    like this?
    however i dont understand why player A ran to the front right after receiving serve, unless they were anticipating the striaght drop. Anyway, if it were me and my racquet broke after me swinging it into my partner's, i wouldn't be asking for any money
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,937
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Objectively, B should have played the smash and A should not have tried for the backhand. A forehand smash moving forward is much more effective than a backhand stroke moving backwards.

    This assumes, however, that B would have been able to play the smash without too much delay; otherwise it will drop too low to smash and an attempted net interception by B would have been better.

    Nonetheless, this does not constitute grounds for B to ask for money when his racket broke. Confusion arises in doubles, and racket clashes are a risk that all players take.

    Unless one player was deliberately trying to damage the other's racket, or was behaving recklessly or unsafely, then there are no grounds for asking for money.

    Bad luck for B It happens.
    Last edited by Gollum; 05-11-2006 at 10:49 AM.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,660
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am going to ask my company to start a badminton racquet liability insurance. IMHO, you play double, racquets clash happen all the time. It is also a tactic for double game to hit between oppenents and hope they miss because of racquet concern or their racquet clash. If that is the case, who's fult is it? Just like Gollum and other say, unless it is "deliberately trying to damage the other's racket, or was behaving recklessly or unsafely" just suck it up and take it like a man. It is easier to buy a new racquet than build a friendship.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    KL, Malaysia
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think the one in the back should beware of their partner who is in front. Normally , i don ask for anyone to pay for my broken racquet and i will always use the cheapest racquet during double game.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Bad luck for B, I agree. It's B's shot to take, but when A backs up, B has full visibility of what's going on.

    If B is sensitive to racket breakage, then he shouldn't have swung.

    Rackets break. Get another.

    -dave

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, It is not too clear what the return looks like. According to your post, it seems that A could hit the return with no problem so I think A is not wrong to return this shot. It may not be the best option for your pair that person A returned the shot instead of person B.

    However, I think person B who standed behind A should be able to see that A was attempting to hit and should understand A is running into B's path. Given the fact that B should be able to see what A was doing while A had no idea what B was doing. I think B is at fault in this situation.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    113
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In any doubles play the middle court is always the forehand shot. It is always easier for a player to hit a forehand than a backhand or around the head. The exceptions would be player A the right side can intercept the bird without without moving back.
    Normally doubles play if a player makes a net shot the player should stay in the front to cover the net and let the person in the back smash when the opponents make a weak return the player in front would take that shot.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah, no, A and B's position were reversed!

    With the diagram from other, reverse A and B's positions. It'll make a lot more sense. As in, a midline shot would have been A's backhand from the very start.

    - A receives from RIGHT HAND SIDE, looking at opponent. Is drop served, goes to forward right
    - B starts on LEFT HAND SIDE
    - Return is weak (botched clear), down midline, midcourt
    - B readies smash, hasn't moved from start.
    - A goes backwards from net and clashes with B.

    Teaches me to go and post whilst looking at the situation from the wrong end of the court! :P

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 11:37 AM
  2. is this a fault?
    By li00075 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 12
    : 03-05-2010, 11:30 AM
  3. Net fault
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2009, 04:25 AM
  4. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 06-10-2005, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •