GCSE Coursework: Badminton Task Form

Discussion in 'Coaching Forum' started by jarmitage, May 18, 2006.

1. jarmitage

jarmitage New Member

OK first of all Hi, I'm new here.

My scenario is this.

I am currently studying GCSE Physical Education at my school in the UK. As part of my final grade, I need to create a 6 week training programme for a player in badminton.

To do this, I have assessed the player, his strengths and weaknesses, and I need to develope four training excercises for each weakness. In brief, I noted these weaknesses;

1. Short serves do not reach area infront of service line and often clip the net.
    2. Drop shots; same problem with short serves.
    3. Through playing against my subject, I have found that he would benefit greatly from being able to disguise his tactics, or use wider shot selections.

What I need, is some advice as to what 12 practises I should use to develop these weaknesses to make my player a better player.

2. Andy05

Andy05 Regular Member

Badminton Geek
    Lol i just did that last year
    For your coursework do u have to do all 12 practises for technique or fitness?
    Because in my coursework i wrote about the player not having enough agility aswell as him not being able to hit the shuttle

3. jamesd20

jamesd20 Moderator

Construction
    All those weaknesses signify a lack of consistency, probably due to a poor stroke cycle for 2. & 3. and probably not "knowing" what he is doing with regards to the technique in point 1..

For point 1. He needs to be explained what the sequences of executing a good serve are, and sticking to that sequence to develop the consistency in length and flight.