Results 1 to 17 of 18
Thread: Badminton Rules
09-23-2006, 01:18 AM #1
Hello everyone, i'm kinda ify on the badminton rules and i was just wondering on one specific badminton rule; when hitting the shuttle at the net, is it that ur not allowed to swing and then hit the net or is it that you're not allowed to hit over the net?
Any replies would be great!
09-23-2006, 01:20 AM #2
when the rally is in progress, in no circumstances shall you or your racket touch the net.
you are allowed to follow through to the other side of the net, given that the contact point is on your side.
09-23-2006, 01:36 AM #3
What happens if the strings from the racquet breaks during a rally? Are you a llow to stop the rally or the rally must continue?
09-23-2006, 01:37 AM #4
no. if your equipment fails during the rally, it is no one else but your fault. the rally should not be halted as a result.
09-25-2006, 01:48 AM #5
Thanks for the clarification kwun. I always thought you are allow to stop the rally due to equipment failures.
09-27-2006, 03:04 PM #6
so either your partner can win that point without you or you lose the point during equipment failure
09-27-2006, 06:41 PM #7
Or you dash off court and get a replacement.
09-27-2006, 08:21 PM #8
haha for real? is that allowed?
09-27-2006, 08:26 PM #9Originally Posted by setaa
09-27-2006, 08:42 PM #10Originally Posted by setaa
you are not allowed to leave the court (off-court) vicinity without the umpire's permission.
however, you can always put a good racket ready next to the court, then you can grab it while you are still inside the court.
read the rules for more detailed information.
09-28-2006, 02:04 AM #11
Yes it is allowed, strictly speaking or otherwise. You may grab a racquet that is at courtside during a point (and you do not have to saty within the court's lines to do so), but you need the umpire's permission at any other time. In the laws:
"16.5.2 No player shall leave the court during a match without the umpire’s permission, except during the intervals as described in Law 16.2. "
and in "Recommendations to Technical officials" (which are the WBF's instructions to umpires and other officials) it says:
"126.96.36.199 Any offending side may have to be reminded that leaving the court needs the umpire’s permission (Law 16.5.2). If necessary, Law 16.7 shall be applied. However, change of a racket at courtside during a rally is permitted. "
09-28-2006, 09:45 PM #12
I remembered seeing a men doubles rally featuring Koo Kien Kiat and Chan against their opponents in the Singapore Open 2006. During the rally, Koo's racquet string snapped and realising that, he virtually dashed out of the court, grabbed his backup racquet leaving his partner to handle the situation for a second or two and continued the rally in almost real time!! Couldn't recall if they managed to savage that point or not but Koo did managed to return a shot. I was amazed by his reaction after I came to realise what was going on later.
09-29-2006, 11:52 PM #13
But I was wondering, do professional players break their strings or racquets often. So far I haven't seen any racquet failures ever since I started to watch badminton matches.
09-30-2006, 02:14 AM #14
i think taufik once broke 3 strings in a game. i think on wc '05 forgot which match though
10-05-2006, 07:06 PM #15Originally Posted by quik_silver
One reason you personally haven't seen any failures, at least not when pro players involved, might be that they have several identical rackets. So unlike us poor amateurs they don't have to play with old worn strings (or rackets). They can change to another racket long before any string/racket breakage. And most probably they will have any racket used during the day to be restringed if advancing to the next days play. Probably a luxury only professionals (or at least national championship level) can afford.
10-06-2006, 03:41 AM #16Originally Posted by tir168
From the rules somewhere - If the shuttle head seperates from the base then it's a let.
However nothing in the rules about the net or the net posts collapsing during a rally.....
10-06-2006, 03:48 AM #17
Well, law 14 says "It is a let if ...
14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by a coach;
or 14.2.7 any unforeseen or accidental situation has occurred. "
Doesn't that cover the situation of a collapsed net post?
By 123321 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 4: 08-10-2009, 01:32 PM
By andymoore in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 21: 08-04-2008, 07:08 AM
By Eggss in forum General ForumReplies: 4: 03-13-2006, 12:46 AM
By Matt in forum General ForumReplies: 2: 01-22-2006, 12:43 PM
By simonf90 in forum General ForumReplies: 6: 11-29-2003, 08:18 PM