User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 18

Thread: Badminton Rules

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Burnaby
    Posts
    23
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Badminton Rules

    Hello everyone, i'm kinda ify on the badminton rules and i was just wondering on one specific badminton rule; when hitting the shuttle at the net, is it that ur not allowed to swing and then hit the net or is it that you're not allowed to hit over the net?

    Any replies would be great!

  2. #2
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    when the rally is in progress, in no circumstances shall you or your racket touch the net.

    you are allowed to follow through to the other side of the net, given that the contact point is on your side.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario
    Posts
    1,175
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What happens if the strings from the racquet breaks during a rally? Are you a llow to stop the rally or the rally must continue?

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    no. if your equipment fails during the rally, it is no one else but your fault. the rally should not be halted as a result.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario
    Posts
    1,175
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the clarification kwun. I always thought you are allow to stop the rally due to equipment failures.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Brunei
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so either your partner can win that point without you or you lose the point during equipment failure

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Or you dash off court and get a replacement.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    217
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    haha for real? is that allowed?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by setaa
    haha for real? is that allowed?
    Yes. Tony did that in US Open before, I think.

  10. #10
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by setaa
    haha for real? is that allowed?
    actually, that's strictly speaking not allowed.

    you are not allowed to leave the court (off-court) vicinity without the umpire's permission.

    however, you can always put a good racket ready next to the court, then you can grab it while you are still inside the court.

    read the rules for more detailed information.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes it is allowed, strictly speaking or otherwise. You may grab a racquet that is at courtside during a point (and you do not have to saty within the court's lines to do so), but you need the umpire's permission at any other time. In the laws:

    "16.5.2 No player shall leave the court during a match without the umpire’s permission, except during the intervals as described in Law 16.2. "

    and in "Recommendations to Technical officials" (which are the WBF's instructions to umpires and other officials) it says:

    "3.5.4.2 Any offending side may have to be reminded that leaving the court needs the umpire’s permission (Law 16.5.2). If necessary, Law 16.7 shall be applied. However, change of a racket at courtside during a rally is permitted. "

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I remembered seeing a men doubles rally featuring Koo Kien Kiat and Chan against their opponents in the Singapore Open 2006. During the rally, Koo's racquet string snapped and realising that, he virtually dashed out of the court, grabbed his backup racquet leaving his partner to handle the situation for a second or two and continued the rally in almost real time!! Couldn't recall if they managed to savage that point or not but Koo did managed to return a shot. I was amazed by his reaction after I came to realise what was going on later.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario
    Posts
    1,175
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    But I was wondering, do professional players break their strings or racquets often. So far I haven't seen any racquet failures ever since I started to watch badminton matches.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    217
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think taufik once broke 3 strings in a game. i think on wc '05 forgot which match though

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Posts
    213
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quik_silver
    But I was wondering, do professional players break their strings or racquets often. So far I haven't seen any racquet failures ever since I started to watch badminton matches.
    In a swedish championship I watched a MD where one of the pairs managed to break the strings on all of their rackets in the same game They had 3 each.....ended up with them having to borrow rackets from some of the spectators (juniors in the club) to finish the match. And then it was a rush to the stringing machine before the next round later in the day

    One reason you personally haven't seen any failures, at least not when pro players involved, might be that they have several identical rackets. So unlike us poor amateurs they don't have to play with old worn strings (or rackets). They can change to another racket long before any string/racket breakage. And most probably they will have any racket used during the day to be restringed if advancing to the next days play. Probably a luxury only professionals (or at least national championship level) can afford.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tir168
    so either your partner can win that point without you or you lose the point during equipment failure
    One exception.
    From the rules somewhere - If the shuttle head seperates from the base then it's a let.
    However nothing in the rules about the net or the net posts collapsing during a rally.....

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well, law 14 says "It is a let if ...

    14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by a coach;

    ...

    or 14.2.7 any unforeseen or accidental situation has occurred. "

    Doesn't that cover the situation of a collapsed net post?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Badminton Rules - Ask for help
    By 123321 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 4
    : 08-10-2009, 12:32 PM
  2. Badminton Rules
    By andymoore in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 21
    : 08-04-2008, 06:08 AM
  3. Rules of Badminton?
    By Eggss in forum General Forum
    Replies: 4
    : 03-12-2006, 11:46 PM
  4. Badminton Rules
    By Matt in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 01-22-2006, 11:43 AM
  5. Rules for badminton.......
    By simonf90 in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 11-29-2003, 07:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •