User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    cage
    Posts
    121
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default my serve is illegal? please help...

    So i have been serving in double where i try to push the birdie over the other player by using my whole arm, is that illegal? No body complain so far until yesterday. He said that i'm not suppose to move my arm just the wrist only. I'm not sure he meant lower arm or upper arm.
    Last edited by yoyomonkey; 07-02-2006 at 03:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoyomonkey
    So i have been serving in double where i try to push the birdie over the other player by using my whole arm, is that illegal? No body complain so far until yesterday. He said that i'm not suppose to move my arm just the wrist only. I'm not sure he meant lower arm or upper arm.
    yomonkey, it is legal. Just make sure it is one forward motion and contact of shuttle made above the wrist level.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    cage
    Posts
    121
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm, so you can move your upper arm right...I'm very good when serving like this, one time i can score up to 5 consecutive points.

    Cooler, i jst want to make sure we are on the same page. i'm talking about backhand serve where the motion is continous and i use both lower and upper arm to place the birdie at opponent backhand corner.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lymm, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,287
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi there - there are a few things to check to make sure your serve is legal.

    1. both feet are on the floor
    2. you racquet is pointing in a downwards direction when you strike the shuttle
    3. your racquet head strikes the shuttle below the height of your lowest rib
    4. once your racquet head starts going forward it cannot pause or go back again.

    if you violate none of these checks then your serve is legal - it doesn't matter what parts of your arms move at all.

    hope this helps

    Neil

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    909
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoyomonkey
    Hmm, so you can move your upper arm right...I'm very good when serving like this, one time i can score up to 5 consecutive points.

    Cooler, i jst want to make sure we are on the same page. i'm talking about backhand serve where the motion is continous and i use both lower and upper arm to place the birdie at opponent backhand corner.
    the serve is 100% legal, doesnt matter for forehand or backhand, you can use wrist or your entire body to serve, your choice.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoyomonkey
    He said that i'm not suppose to move my arm just the wrist only. I'm not sure he meant lower arm or upper arm.
    You can use any part of the arm, not restrict to wrist only. Just make sure you don't violate other serve rules, as others listed in this thread.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lymm, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,287
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yoyomonkey
    He said that i'm not suppose to move my arm just the wrist only. I'm not sure he meant lower arm or upper arm.
    perhaps he was trying to coach you - if your backhand serving the best action is the one that moves as little as possible - it reduces the margin for error. so just using your wrist is usually quite a good serve

    Coops

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cooler
    yomonkey, it is legal. Just make sure it is one forward motion and contact of shuttle made above the wrist level.
    oops, a big typo.
    it should read shuttle contact should not be above the waist level to be safe.
    coops241180 said no higher than lowest rib level which is the absolute height contact level. Personally i rather concentrate on an accurate serve than making sure contact made at the highest allowing height.

Similar Threads

  1. Illegal serve?
    By decoy in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 11
    : 10-07-2011, 09:54 PM
  2. legal/illegal serve
    By Renkinjutsushi in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 18
    : 11-18-2008, 06:33 PM
  3. Is Lin Dan's Serve Illegal?
    By sergesa in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 75
    : 04-09-2007, 11:54 PM
  4. Serve illegal?
    By silentlight in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 8
    : 03-18-2005, 12:39 AM
  5. What's consider an illegal serve?
    By Sgt_Strider in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 07-23-2003, 07:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •