Young coach need help with coaching

Discussion in 'Coaching Forum' started by omegared, Jul 4, 2006.

1. omegared

omegared New Member

Hi Everyone

I am a relatively inexperienced coach who has played league level for many years, and now have decide to give back sometihng to the sport in the way of coaching.

I will be taking on a six month, 2 hours every sunday class of around 10 people who in standard are just passed the beginning stage.

I was wondering if any you guys out there can give me some pointers on what material over this mass amount of time i have to include every week, how to build it up and to keep it fresh an enjoyable for my 8-10 year olds.

The coaching i have done in the past has not been for a six month span, so deciding on how to implement the whole lesson scheme is a bit dawnting.

Any help would be fantanstic.

Regards

Omegared

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

You will find as many opinions about coaching programmes as you will find coaches; often it is most effective to adjust your plans depending on the group.

Have you gained a Badminton England (or similar) national coaching qualification?

8-10 year olds usually have low body skill and will tire easily. Do not expect to achieve too much too quickly, and do not be hard on yourself if their progress seems slow!

Children of this age also lack the discipline and concentration of older and more committed players. If you can keep things fun, and not burden them with expectations, then it will help a lot.

Bearing this in mind, you may want to keep the practice sessions short and interrupt them with games (either badminton or other fun games). Young children often have good fitness for a short period and love to run about, but their stamina is very limited.

You may even consider junior rackets and shuttle alternatives (don't feel you have to consider everything, however, if you are to be a good coach. One thing at a time!).

#2 Gollum, Jul 4, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2006