Switching from ISO to oval

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by P1x44r, Aug 20, 2006.

1. P1x44r

P1x44r Regular Member

I only started playing badminton several weeks ago and my current racket is an ISO from Carlton. I don't really like it all that much(it's heavy), but I'd stick to it regardless if not for one concern.

I'm afraid that playing with an ISO will make my life more difficult once if switch to oval racket(which I'm planning on doing at some point). The head of my racket is larger than what most others use where I play and I don't know if I'll have trouble down the road adjusting to a smaller head.

Do you think it's a valid concern or should I not worry about it at all? I tried friend's Yonex MP30 today and it did feel like a much better racket compared to mine. Lighter, more comfortable for me to hold, etc. I don't really want to spend the money on one yet unless you tell me that I should stick to an oval racket from the beginning because transition might be painful later on. I feel that it is now when I develop my technique and I'm afraid that I might rely on ISO head too much to switch to ovals afterwards.

What do you think?

Thank you.

2. Lupine

Lupine New Member

I don't think the transition would be all that difficult, especially considering how long you've been playing. You're still developing your skillset (I've been playing for many years and am hopefully still doing the same!) so changing racket size & weight shouldn't be that bad for you.

And welcome to the sport! :)

3. Tweak

Tweak Regular Member

Student
    Personally, I would worry more about the weight than the racket head shape. If you feel the racket doesn't suit you, try another one. I switched from oval to iso heads a few years ago and it only took me a few rallies to re-adjust. Th e technique doesn't really change, IMO.

4. PandaLord

PandaLord Regular Member

Student