User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Law 13.2.2

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    IRAN
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Law 13.2.2

    Folks,

    would you please explain for me the meaning of this law? or if you have a movie i would be very grateful

    Law 13.2.2 " ...It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in service, the shuttle after passing over the net, is caught in the net.."

    what does exactly this mean?

    as far as i understand, It means after you give your serve , shuttle, throughout its way after passing the net touch the edge of the net it is fault. it does not matter whether it lands on the serve area or not...!does this mean that even if my service is fine but the shuttle touches the net then it`s fault?

    I`m confused..!!! Please help...


    Really appreciate,

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    927
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It means that, during a service, you serve the bird, it rolls over the net, but then gets caught in the net and remains stuck, it's a fault.

    And it's common sense as to why it's a fault, because if the net wasn't there, the shuttle wouldn't have reached the service line anyways.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    207
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, the shuttle can touch the tape without being a fault.

    However (just to confuse everyone), if the shuttle gets stuck on the tape during open play (i.e. after the receiving shot), it's a let.

  4. #4
    Regular Member craigandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Line & Length View Post
    Yep, the shuttle can touch the tape without being a fault.

    However (just to confuse everyone), if the shuttle gets stuck on the tape during open play (i.e. after the receiving shot), it's a let.
    In open play it is only if the shuttle get stuck on the opposing side of the tape from which the shuttle was played, If you play it and it gets stuck on your side it is still a fault. I think this is why they wrote this service rule in this way, to cover this question for service.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have been involved in matches more than once where the shuttle was caught on top of the net upside down with the feathers stuck around the tape. I never saw this with a service, only during a rally.
    In cases like thuis you play a let. When it happens wit a service, it is a fault.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •