User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default playing different level opponents

do u guys ever notice that when u play against people who are better then u u play ur best?, when u play against people who are of lesser level then u, u stoop down to their level? i always do this i dont know why

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

That used to happen to me.

Then I started playing more against weaker players, and consciously polish my shots (production and placement) in these games. Now my shots are consistent whether I play stronger or weaker players.

If I had played exclusively against stronger players, I would not have the luxury of polishing my shots to make them consistent, because most of the time I would be reacting to shots rather than to execute a refined stroke.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

One possible reason is if you are much better than your opponent, the rally will be short/easy if you play to win, which is less fun for both. I also find myself not going all out b/c I can win w/o exerting myself. Mental slack, I guess.

One way to keep the rally going is to reduce or do w/o power shots (smash or drive). Refine your shot (tighter net shot and drop than normal, clear to tramline/baseline) is another way to deal with this.

Another way is to work on your weakness. I'm weak in smash return, so I'll play to lead a few points, than give the opponent chance to smash, etc.

I sometimes play 1 on 2 if they are weak, or half-court singles w/o me smashing to make it more challenging.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by evolution-Fung
    do u guys ever notice that when u play against people who are better then u u play ur best?, when u play against people who are of lesser level then u, u stoop down to their level? i always do this i dont know why