Results 1 to 17 of 23
09-12-2006, 09:06 AM #1
slicing - someone set me straight plz :D
can anyone clarify the legalities of slicing the shuttle for me please?
The reason i ask, is simply because ive never really seen anyone do it at my club, and isnt it hitting the shuttle more than once if your racket hits the cork as well as raking down the feathers?
(I may have my terms jumbled up, i mean like, if you are cleared to, and you "smash" the shuttle, but with a slightly tilted raquet so that the shot comes off as more of a slow drop shot)
09-12-2006, 09:11 AM #2
hi, if you want to know if it is legal. yes, of course, as long as the shuttle is hit by the racket in one continuous stroke, and it passes the net and it lands in, it is legal.
09-13-2006, 06:37 AM #3
Hitting the feathers on a serve is I believe frowned upon, but in normal play you can get an advantage (especially at the net) by using a sliced shot.
09-13-2006, 06:47 AM #4Originally Posted by morewood
You may hit the cork only, or you may hit the cork and immediately afterwards hit the feathers. This is common in sliced wide low serves.
You may not hit the feathers only, nor may you hit the feathers and cork together. This law was introduced to ban the deadly S-serve, which spun the shuttle chaotically.
09-13-2006, 07:24 AM #5
There speaks a man who has read the rule book…….
My understanding stems from what usually happens in a league game should there be an umpire, at least 50% of the time if you strike the feathers sufficiently to make the shuttle tumble the umpire calls a foul serve.
09-13-2006, 07:36 AM #6Originally Posted by morewood
Note, however, that it is possible to make the shuttle tumble using a slice from left to right, which very obviously never touches the feathers. This is not a good serve, however, because it tends to pop up and flick serves are difficult.
By the way, please don't use the text formatting options in these forums just to choose a font that you like. The default font (and size, and weight) is there for a reason. Font effects may be used (sparingly) for emphasis.
09-13-2006, 07:49 AM #7Originally Posted by Gollum
09-13-2006, 09:18 AM #8Originally Posted by kwun
Firstly, accidental double hits are now illegal (even if one continuous stroke) unless the shuttle hits both the racquet head and the strings in that stroke.
The relevant law is:
"It is a fault if ...
13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’; "
The purpose of this seems merely to avoid argument over whether a frame shot (which is perfectly legal) is a double hit (which many are).
This does not outlaw a slice, however, because a slice does not depend on a double hit.
Secondly the shuttle must now pass over the net, and not merely pass the net. This is because of this law:
"It shall be a 'fault' ... if in play, the shuttle ...
13.3.3 fails to pass over the net; "
I guess they changed this to get around the silly situation we have discussed previously where a player may be able to hit a shuttle around the net but lower than the net cord.
09-13-2006, 10:43 AM #9
do we actually hit the feathers while slicing? i don't think i do. or maybe i did it without realising?
09-13-2006, 10:57 AM #10
You probably do, I know when I slice I get the feathers quite a lot.
09-13-2006, 05:00 PM #11Originally Posted by morewood
Originally Posted by DivingBirdie
09-14-2006, 03:46 AM #12Originally Posted by Gollum
09-14-2006, 04:04 AM #13Originally Posted by morewood
Why not just type them into the edit box?
Perhaps this explains why quite a few posters use Times New Roman. I thought they were messing with the fonts, but maybe they are typing in a word processor!
If you are worried about losing a long post, then you can copy-paste it into Notepad or a similar text editor (note that text editors are not the same as word processors). I do this quite often; but make sure "Word wrap" is off, otherwise you can get lots of added line breaks
09-14-2006, 05:00 AM #14Originally Posted by Gollum
09-15-2006, 10:48 AM #15
I don't understand, what's wrong with using Times New Roman?
09-15-2006, 10:57 AM #16Originally Posted by Gollum
09-15-2006, 02:00 PM #17
By amleto in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 34: 03-21-2012, 06:08 AM
By Crazypeetee246 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 103: 03-24-2009, 07:18 PM
By goldieandsilvie in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 12: 11-08-2007, 03:36 PM
By clement71 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 2: 05-13-2007, 04:56 AM
By Monster in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 16: 09-01-2006, 07:24 PM