quick question

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by drifterXL, Sep 13, 2006.

1. drifterXL

drifterXL Regular Member

hello everyone. i joined this forum just a while back, since i started playing badminton again.

i have a cab 8200 light, and i want to get it restrung. a few months ago, i just blindly chose a BG70 Pro and had it strung at 18lbs. well the place/person that did it did an insanely horrible job. i will never go there again :( i will post pictures of it tomorrow, and you will know what i mean.

my dad is experienced with badminton, since hes been playing it forever. he says the way he can move the strings with his fingers, means they did not string at the right tension. it is very easy to just slide the strings and stuff, compared to our super old (like 6 yrs old) Iso 60, which was strung like 4 yrs ago at like, 14 lbs, its harder to move the string on that racket than it is on mine.

so when i first tried it out, it was pretty weak. now, i have weak arms. im not even gonna pretend i dont. when i tried it out, it was amazingly weak. i know i dont have the best technique, but im not full on beginner either. i used to learn from some professional that was really good.. like when i was in gr 6 or 7. learned for about a year or two, and i had developed some good technique and all. at that time, i was using the iso 60 with the stock string. then i stopped, since the teacher changed and apparently he wasnt very good. and only now i started again. so of course i am amazingly rusty.

i noticed i swing too early, and most of my shots are at the top part of my racket, above my sweetspot. but even when i put more strength into my shots, they wouldnt go very far. im standing at a bit past half on my side of the court, and my shot goes half way only. other than that its pretty much like any string. i am by no means a pro, so i wouldnt notice slight differences etc. i can still do regular shots fine.. too lazy to name them.